We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The room was wonderful and the view incredible. Their ocean view rooms that were recently renovated a perfect. From the location to the decor beautiful. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    158
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
278
137
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Beach Street inn in room 202. GREAT hotel. Pulling up it seems a little outdated, but the rooms are adorable and the view is AMAZING. They have cute chairs out front that were nice to sit out at night and enjoy the beach view. The rooms were clean and the kitchenette was a really nice feature. The shower was great! LOVE the dual heads! The location was perfect too! Hop, skip and a jump away from the warf and a nice little bar and grill across the street (Ideal Bar and Grill). If we had a place to pick next time we're in Santa Cruz, the beach street in would be it!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcullen0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent two nights here in one of the newly refurbished rooms, second tier, ocean view. We lucked out with superb weather, the ocean sparkled and the view was magic. Our room was charming and the shower was "to die for." We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the front tiers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32358Elle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I lived in Santa Cruz for 54 years till we moved to the Sierra. Trips back home are usually routine but this time was different. We stayed at the recently refurbished Beach Street Inn & Suites and loved it. The rooms offer beautiful views of Monterey Bay, the Casino, the Wharf and Main Beach and are wonderfully appointed. Hard wood floors, pastel walls and plantation shuttlers are a nice touch and the full size, tiled, twin shower head showers are a real treat. The art work showing early 1900 enlarged post cards and the beautiful water colors of Marie Gabrielle complete the eye pleasing rooms. I'ts close to many attractions and fine dining and has convenient and secure parking. A great place to stay!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gwynn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We went to this motel for the first time last fall and it worked out very well for us. We're a family of four with 2 little ones under 3 years old, and although packing all the kid stuff up & down stairs isn't so great, we made it work. Room was very outdated and a little pricey for that time of year, but the location was above par!!! We could walk to everything and didn't have to worry about hauling the kids in and out of carseats-yeah! We went to book a midweek stay for this summer and was blown away by the cost. $340/night!! Even a great location can't justify that kind of rate. This place was made for small families and now they can't even afford to go. Very sad. I'm sure this in part due to the remodel, but they really needed to do that anyway. I know it's summer time but I can't see spending over $1,200 for a Tues-Thurs stay at a motel. Good grief!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltravel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Highlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

The hotel itself was great. The room was very pretty with a great view. The staff made this trip my worst experience ever and i will never return.They are unbelievebly rude. My husband is a smoker and they indicated that the "room" was non-smoking but never mentioned that you were not able to smoke on the patio. Where in world can you not smoke outside!!! They accussed us of smoking in the romm and would charge me $150!!!! They accussed of us smoking in the room when it was clear he smoked outside. They told that there was no smoking on the patio, even though they never mentioned this, had no signs posted or made us sign anything stating this. This was pure robbery!!! Of course i was upset as anyone would be if they were beign accused and charged money for something they didnt do. I debated the charges and then they told me if i didnt leave they would call the police! I will NEVER return here and i encourge any smoker to not stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go here if you smoke!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank slee916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
For the comfort, convenience and safety of all guests we are a smoke free hotel. However, we have a dedicated smoking area overlooking the Monterey Bay with a firepit, park benches and beautiful landscaping and it is unfortunate this beautiful courtyard was not used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I can't say enough about this small locally owned inn. The staff was verry helpful and accomadating. we just pulled into town with no idea where to go. We did check one recommendation from another local lodge employee but that place smelled and was expensive. We got to town at 10 am and the staff cleaned the room and had it ready for us in 45 minutes. We had been on the road for 7 days bouncing from place to place (I think they felt sorry for my wife 7 days 4 smelly boys). Room was a stones throw from the beach and had a small kitchen which was perfect. We will be back...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Street Inn and Suites
Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing