We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT LOCAL TRADITION IN SANTA CRUZ”

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 374 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A GREAT LOCAL TRADITION IN SANTA CRUZ”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have been coming to Zachary's off and on for years. I like Zachary's, it is always good and very affordable, if you really want the flavor of the true Santa Cruz crowded Zachary's is the place to see it all..It is kind of funky, but clean and the food is good..Breakfast has mostly been my experience but have gone for Lunch and the Basic Burger has been my choose. Breakfast is natural real food, I love the Pancakes, and the Scramble eggs with salsa..Bread is always whole grain with real butter, the coffee is good and you can have as many refills as you like, the service is great, the wait people friendly and helpful, You always have to wait,but not for long and they will service you coffee while you wait,,most people wait outside but there is a sitting area in the back corner if you prefer to wait inside...truly a interesting scene, great people watching,funky but artful decor..good food at a very affordable price, I would recommended this place, if you are afraid of the different, don't go, If you want to be part of a hip scene then by all means give it a try..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    74
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Not expecting much has its benefits: you're never let down. This place beat out any misgivings I may have had and I like that! The food was top notch and plentiful (where can you get a great breakfast steak, cooked perfectly that tasted like steak!); coffee was great; service spot on and kitchen fast! We sat at the bar and were surrounded by folks waiting for tables. Why bother? The server was great and put together take out food at the same time. There was coffee available for those waiting (a very nice touch!). Overall - BAM! They rocked it. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Coffeecake”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great breakfast here, good eggs, service and awesome coffeecake. The noise level is a bit high, but it was a great energy. We would go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best sour dough pancakes around. Coffee a bit weak though”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been going to Zach's for > 30 years. They have the best sour dough pancakes in the Bay area. That being said, there are a few other things on the menu to "be-a-aware" of. Breakfast potatoes are so-so. Coffee average to above (can't understand why they don't have espressos or a good french roast)? Coffee cakes are good. Apple sausage good, Miguel’s salsa great!
Thier servingf staff have always been excellent....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Down Home Goodness”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Terrific breakfast and look forward to lunch soon as these are the only two meals they serve. I had the Artichoke Frittata and my husband had the Chili and Eggs. Wasn't wild about the cornbread that came with his dish - too moist and cake like with whole corn kernels. Loved my bran muffin,though - nice homemade taste and texture. Can get crowded so go early.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing