We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local Favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zachary's Restaurant

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 368 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant serves one of the best breakfast! The omelets, Mike's Mess, Miguel's salsa, the coffee cake... are amazing! Zachary's serves both breakfast and lunch, but the breakfast is my favorite. The service is fast, the crowd is made up of local folks and students. On the weekend, get there early, because it does get very busy! Enjoy!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Last time I went I got mikes mess & it was enjoyable.
Very upbeat and lively staff.
Huge portions - so you'll get it to go- and then a homeless person will follow you and harass you for it until you give them your food. 90% of the time. Maybe if one would have asked instead of told me to I wouldn't have cared.
It's not the restaurants fault that pacific ave is going down the crapper - other than location I loved it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinalillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our second time for breakfast. We enjoyed our first breakfast so much we had to come back. Prices are average and the food is plentiful and homemade.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic local hang-out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife found out about this place in a tour guide and it was a great place for a huge inexpensive breakfast. It's clearly a place for regulars and I can see why they come back. My only disappointment was that there was no wifi. If there was wifi this would be a 5 star location for me and I would've stayed a lot longer (and probably spent more money). That being said, the owners may be quite happy letting the tourists go to Starbucks (or wherever) to sit on their iPads!

Great place, I already want to go back for their crispy bacon and fluffy pancakes.

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenhagen, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh the college days...yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been going here for years for the Mike's Mess after a slugish morning following a late night. This was the cure all. Great coffee and filling food! Busy, alive, funky and oh so delicious. The food is savory and homemade, with fresh ingredients and consistently good. Zachary's is an institution in it's own right! I now eat there whenever I'm in the area traveling for work or pleasure. Never disappoints!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NanCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing