We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local hang-out.”

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic local hang-out.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife found out about this place in a tour guide and it was a great place for a huge inexpensive breakfast. It's clearly a place for regulars and I can see why they come back. My only disappointment was that there was no wifi. If there was wifi this would be a 5 star location for me and I would've stayed a lot longer (and probably spent more money). That being said, the owners may be quite happy letting the tourists go to Starbucks (or wherever) to sit on their iPads!

Great place, I already want to go back for their crispy bacon and fluffy pancakes.

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    73
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langenhagen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh the college days...yummy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been going here for years for the Mike's Mess after a slugish morning following a late night. This was the cure all. Great coffee and filling food! Busy, alive, funky and oh so delicious. The food is savory and homemade, with fresh ingredients and consistently good. Zachary's is an institution in it's own right! I now eat there whenever I'm in the area traveling for work or pleasure. Never disappoints!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food!! Awesome service too!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is so great. I love this joint. man, there always so packed in the morning and early afternoon about like brunch time. Because they are so bomb!! i would def. recommend this place to anyone and everyone. If you're looking for some super delicious food whether you're a local or a tourist this place is the place to go!! =)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place has it all. Locals, tourists and the best breakfast around. Home made breads and muffins. Over the top has browns and coffee as good as Starbuck!
Plus, the people watching is another plus in this place.
Don't miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great service, great selection, great value, great setting”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A real old-fashioned kind of place - cosy, with wooden floors and wooden tables and chairs. Nice and busy, and with excellent service. The food was perfect - there were 5 of us and we all ordered different things from the menu and each dish was superb. Lots of different breads to choose from, corn bread, rye bread etc. The portions were substantial to say the least. Something for everyone. TRY IT! Best breakfast place so far for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeComoExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing