We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad and most likely one of the best in the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad and most likely one of the best in the area.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for a couple days on business. The rooms are nice, pool is great and location is good. Not located at the beach but not far away. Only major down side is the town. The park next door is basically a homeless shelter. The hotel has very good gated security so it's not an issue but there can be some noise at times outside. Also you really can't enjoy the park much which is a shame. These folks have no where to go and just stay there.

I did have noise issues at this hotel due to the sliding bathroom doors. If you get someone next to you that bangs the doors open and shut you WILL hear it loudly. There doesn't seem like much way to keep this quite either.

Room Tip: I liked my ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daninstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    177
    72
    31
    8
See reviews for
147
195
22
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We came for a baby shower. Room on second floor. Annoying house keeper cart going by room al afternoon. Since walkway outside it was nousy. Normally not bothered because we would be out except spouse was sick. Lived the shower. Bed was comfy. Would stay again. Oh pool heated!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

While not on the beach, nothing in Santa Cruz is more than a quick drive away so it was a good location. The parking was free and convenient.

We stayed on the fifth floor facing the pool. The rooms were very quiet, couldn't hear anything through the walls. The room was spacious and comfortable. The decor of the entire place was beautiful. The bathrobes provided were wonderful. But best of all was the pool, which doesn't close til 10. It was clean, heated, and wonderful! The hot tub could've been a tad warmer but it was big and spacious.

My only complaint would be that the menu for the Sunday brunch at the restaurant listed on their website was not what was offered. In fact, the actual menu was fairly limited, which was a bit disappointing. That being said, the Benedict I received was cooked perfectly. So I can't complain about the food nor the service. Just complaining about the website. ;)

Will definitely come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xosurlyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having a student at UCSC, I have been bouncing around trying to find a decent place to stay in Santa Cruz. Finally, I found Hotel Paradox, a charming, friendly place I can count on. I've stayed here 4 times and am never disappointed.
I read another review about the room size and I don't know how much bigger the rooms need to be. I find them fairly large. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The pillows are fresh and the decor is hip with the raw wood walls for headboards and pictures of the nearby woods.
The shower is great with decent water pressure and the lighting is great in both bath and bedrooms. I prefer the ground floor by the pool. These rooms have a little table and 2 chairs to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air.
The pool and jacuzzi are huge and not ever too crowded. I use the gym as well, the machines are modern, the facilities are clean and there is plenty of room to get a good workout before heading out.
During my last stay in Feb. I tried the dining room for dinner. It was superb! The service was excellent and the food was delicious but a little pricey.
Overall, I always enjoy coming back to Hotel Paradox and am glad there if finally an affordable, modern, and clean place to stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because the bed was very comfortable! Otherwise, the room is extremely small (web pics are misleading!)...and very loud! I felt like I was in a college dorm room all night...didn't get a very good nights sleep. The room service was terrible...except the soup and the guy who delivered. I appreciate that they tried to cover up an old motel with a modern look, but it just didn't work for us. Service was ok....half the crew was accommodating then other half snotty. We will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NapaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

There are no ocean views here but the location is perfect for zipping downtown, to the Boardwalk, east or west cliff or down to the Capitola, Aptos area. The ambiance they've created with a very hip and 'woodsy' feel in the hotel lobby, restaurant and pool makes you forget about not being within ear shot of the waves. The rooms continue the 'woodsy' theme and are fairly spacious with all the needed amenities. The ground floor rooms have an outside sitting area that's a nice touch. They have a great restaurant and bar with an interesting and varied menu of food and drinks. The room rates were really reasonable and we found that booking directly through the website was the best way to go. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel and location.

Room Tip: If you choose a ground floor room on a weekend you might want to stay away from the pool and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smox62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Natural material aesthetic with modern style. The room was modern, quite clean, and visually pleasing. The bed was on the soft side as were the pillows, but comfortable nonetheless. The room was small but expected. We stayed here (on the first floor) during some of the first rains of the winter which caused constant dripping through the night. Also, a machine turned on (or that was what it sounded like) a couple times through the night as well. Depending on the price, I would stay here again, but would get a room on a higher floor.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank H_ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing