We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For a business trip this hotel was nice. The beds are confortable and the internet works well. The natural feel of the rooms is nice, they are small but well equiped. I do feel the price is excessive, but if you want a nice clean room in a decent area, this hotel will do.
Do be careful of the park behind the hotel, it has had some recent crime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnilemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear AnilemA,

Thank you for your recent stay with the Hotel Paradox! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you liked the room. For our best values, always book on our direct website at www.thehotelparadox.com. We also rate match if you find a rate lower somewhere else, call us and we will verify it and will happily match it for you! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    174
    71
    31
    7
See reviews for
147
193
21
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice and clean, did exactly what we wanted.
Slightly overpriced but rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Quite modern looking inside. Plenty of parking spaces.

The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice contemporary design. Friendly welcome by staff upon arrival. Easy parking close to the rooms which are clean with great furniture and decoration. Bed and sheets are superb. One of the best sheets I've ever slept in. Both pool and hottub are excellent with enough poolchairs to relax. Breakfast is excellent but is not included in the room price. For what you pay per night a basic continental breakfast should be included.

However, besides all the fancy and style there are some things that can be improved. Our room was next to the elevator which made noise everytime it was used. Room very small with almost no place to put suitcases. Happy hour was only on very small selection of drinks, not on the cocktails. Food way overprized. Offered quality not good enough for the high price they charge.

If you make a stopover in Santa Cruz this hotel is a welcome break from hours of driving and a good place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We checked in here and got good service, 2 drinks on our bill to have cause on honeymoon, that was kind.. Our room key then wouldn't work, so after returning to the desk and listening to phone reservations (shouldn't someone be in a back office to do that, to leave reception be for the actual guests?!) the girl put 2 extra free drinks on our room bill. That was a nice touch, she didn't need to, we were pleased with that. We then went to the pool, being on honeymoon, it wasn't as chilled as it could have been because of the noisy and annoying kids everywhere, even in the hot tub.. But hey, it not an adults only place.
Happy hour was 3 hrs, good value and friendly wait staff. Dinner also cool, well thought out menu and clean, modern feel to the dining room! Great waiter service too.
Bar is impressive and you can see the pride the staff have in their jobs , well done. Lastly the rooms were sleek, modern and clean, with air con, comfy beds, and a good night sleep there.
Would recommend, however it is pricy, look out for an advance purchase deal or something.. We were last minute so we took the cost.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveluxury2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Loveluxury2013,

Wanted to say thank you for the recent stay and review of Hotel Paradox. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel amenities and offerings. We are glad you enjoyed the Pool deck service and Solaire restaurant and bar. We do feature a happy hour certain days and times. We often change up the selections as well. We thank you very much for joining us for your honeymoon and I'd be happy to see you on your anniversary as well!

Many thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
Hotel Paradox
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was nice and clean, exercise room was good, everything worked fine (except the temp control as the a/c could not keep up), staff was friendly & the lobby even made a good attempt to be trendy. The 3 star rating really reflects the cost -- it would have been a great hotel at half the cost and a reasonable stay at 3/4 the cost. In case you're not sensing the theme -- it is overpriced for what you get.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tvl4fun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Checked in for two nights with hubby and 7year old son, on arrival, staff were very helpful and friendly, they let us check in early and so we were able to hit the beach straight away. Rooms are modern and very clean, absolutely no complaints whatsoever.
The beach is about a 20min walk, or you can get the free trolley which is a 10min walk away, either way its a pleasant walk and even at 10pm walking back from the boardwalk everything thing felt safe.
Would definitely stay again....

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have seating outside so very nice in the evening..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sara D,

We appreciate you staying at the Hotel Paradox in Santa Cruz. Thank you for such a lovely review, we thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the beach, it's been a very pretty beach-y summer! We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks!!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
Hotel Paradox
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the fancy tree desk in the hotel lobby fool you. It's cool, yes. But the staff lacked the training of a high-end hotel and the rooms were very small with temperature problems.

The bed, however, was very comfortable and the shower was very neato with a rain forest shower head and a pebble aggregate bottom. They also provided a comfy robe, which I liked.

Would recommend this hotel if you like hip decor and sustainable soaps and shampoos but not if you're looking for a quiet, higher end hotel with more amenities and exemplary service.

One more thing, I didn't swim but the pool and spa looked very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdonna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear KDonna66,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Hotel Paradox. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the shower, plush robe and the thought the pool area looked good. I am concerned that you feel we are not all we represent ourselves as-I would be happy to review anything we could do to make it a better experience. If service was lacking, where did we fail you? I'm interested to know so that we can create a better experience in the future and ensure we take better care of any concerns you have. We are not trying to be hipsters, what we are trying to provide is a unique, fun, upscale Hotel stay and wish to offer individual services to every guest experience. If we missed it, I'd love to know how to correct it from your point of view. I appreciate the feedback and welcome an email or discussion over the phone-please feel free to contact me however you wish. Trip Advisor is pretty anonymous, so I can't really track you down. :)

Appreciate your reply,

Andrea Murray, General Manager
t-831.600.4501
e-andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing