We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Visit”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel has a lot to offer young hip couples and families, and at the same time my elderly mom and disabled sister also had a wonderful stay. All of the staff were welcoming, friendly and could not have done more to accommodate our needs. The clean, nature base decor is very restful and calming. As a local with a small house, I will definately book this for family in the future. I'll also be back for a drink poolside with friends.

Room Tip: Book a room on the ocean side on one of the upper floors for a view. The first floor poolside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Jasmine230,

Wow, thank you so much for the great review of Hotel Paradox. We are so happy to hear that the service you received made your stay special. We love our indoor forest that our design team created, it is unique and glad to see it enhanced the feeling of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you poolside for cocktails. Our full liquor license should be in effect soon. Time being, enjoy a Soju cocktail or a glass of wine by the pool.

Many thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
Hotel Paradox
831.600.4505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    182
    73
    32
    8
See reviews for
154
198
22
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Central location, spotless, comfortable, charming, reasonably priced, nice restaurant, great pool area....felt safe and happy. Downside, thin walls and we had loud drunk people in the room next to us. Earplugs were an easy fix. Will recommend to my family and friends. The redwood decor is a nice touch too.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Brilliant location, close to the main strip which had loads of great restaurants and shops. The staff were super friendly and provided brilliant service. Went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, gave us bar and restaurant recommendations. Rooms were cosy and plush. The heated swimming pool, hot pool and surrounding pool area was heavenly. The pools stay open until 10pm and theres a fire pit so you can spend the evening by the pool. Cocktails were reasonably priced at $8 dollars and you can have them sat in the hot tub! Utter bliss.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Made a reservation for Hotel Paradox on their web site as we were driving into Santa Cruz. I liked that it looked trendy and new. Was surprised by the look of the hotel when we arrived, it looks like an office building that has been converted. I wasn't sold, but then we walked inside and they've done a great job decorating, the giant tree used as the front desk was a cool and different touch. The staff was all very helpful and nice. The room was clean and modern, the bed was comfortable.

The hotel is walking distance to great restaurants and easily accessible to the highway.

We hung by the fire pit near the pool in the evening and the staff was really great, trying to help us find lighting, providing water etc. Great mood set by the pool and hot tub.

When we were checking out the hotel was going through some updates and changes and I think there was only one girl working. She took care of our checkout process and then fetched the car because she couldn't find the valet guys. I felt for her, she did a great job, she was clearly on her own, but she didn't let that bother her.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkinginplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall very pleased, particularly since we had a Travelzoo voucher, which was a fantastic deal. Not sure how we feel about their regular prices, but we probably WOULD stay here again.

The good:
-Rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are very comfy!
-Very clean and comfortable.
-Lobby has a nice, stylish vibe.
-Parking was very easy.
-Convenient location to the neighboring park, downtown, highway and Boardwalk.

The awesome:
-Soft wonderful linens.
-The jacuzzi is spacious and perfect temp. Very pleasant pool deck.
-The restaurant Solaire was fabulous. Nice ambiance, fantastic food and very pleasant service. All our meals were delicious and top-notch.

The not so awesome:
-They can't scan online vouchers (ie- Travelzoo) off your phone, so getting them the info was clunky and inconvenient. If you use a voucher or coupon, you'll need to print it before you go.
-The pillows were good quality, but super thick, so we both got woke with stiff neck and headaches. If you prefer a slimmer pillow, bring your own.
-Pool deck service. Very pleasant staff, but they forgot about our drink orders for about 40 minutes... we were pretty much pruny and ready to leave when they brought our beverages.
-We wanted to book a couples massage, but the spa company they work with didn't call us back for 6 hours (too late to book something). It seems they need 24hr notice and don't use a message service. Doesn't work if you want to be spontaneous (same day) during your stay.

Despite a couple little bugs still to work out, definitely a nice option if you're in Santa Cruz for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I suspect they're all nice, but a higher floor might be nice if you prefer to avoid the pool noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteheather99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel Paradox provides a healthy array of amenities for its nightly rate. Also contributing to its rating is the location of hotel, which permits for easy walking distance to Santa Cruz Warriors stadium and to central business district (~15min walk). I was disappointed to incur a $5 surcharge to park car in lot, without being told beforehand.

The pool seemed very family friendly and the hot tub was large. May not be the ideal setting if you're looking for a romantic evening in the hot tub.

The room was decorated with a modern approach, including the use of reclaimed wood. Linens were soft and smelled fresh. Only drawbacks here were the bland dressers and sliding bathroom door which doesn't fit the decor.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level have additional outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We shared at the Paradox for a short family vacation. I had read the reviews and knew that had recently been renovated. The location was great and pArking was easy. The decor was very sleek. Great linens great amenities. The pool area was wonderful. We sat out one afternoon and had happy hour with our school aged kids. Only downside is the rooms are very small for four people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,588 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing