We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“Very different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Greeted by Adrainne, she wasn't very welcoming, customer service skills need to be developed . But later on I met Nicole at the reception desk and she was awesome! Exuberant, vivacious and she just seemed to genuinely care!
Housekeeping personnel were equally attentive and provided requested items promptly! The room was nice and clean but I sure didn't like the view- county buildings parking lot !
I did have dinner on site, ordered the marinated skirt steak to be prepared " medium" it came practically raw yuck !
Didn't have an opportunity to inform server since I didn't see him again until towards the end, ate the French fries and broccoli , bread and butter wasn't served and I finally received a second cup of coffee as I paid the bill! I won't be eating there again ! But being on Ocean street allows you access to other restaurants within walking distance !
The pool and exercise areas were nice. Landscape was well kept, it's been re- opened 7 months now and the area is kept pretty clean! The price seemed high because the rooms are basic--log for table, old boards on wall...rather rustic for my taste!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Chiva51,

Thank you so much for recently staying at the Hotel Paradox in Santa Cruz. We are glad to hear that you liked the service you received from Nicole at the desk, we will follow up with all staff to encourage that we want service to feel warm and welcoming from all team members. I am very sorry that the food and service in Solaire was not exactly how you expected to be. I will follow up with the team and make sure to share your experience and feedback to further improve our Hotel experience for all future guests. Glad you the Housekeeping service and noted that the rooms are very clean. We appreciate the comments and will reward the team for the things they did well for you. Please feel free to reach out, if you plan to return, I would be more than happy to ensure your complete satisfaction with the entire experience.

Thank you!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    161
    64
    30
    6
See reviews for
136
174
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely stay here again. About a 20 min walk to the boardwalk. No complaints. Just suggestions. We spent time at the hot tub. We inquired about towels and were told if we saw towels to take them. My suggestion would be to put the towels in a designated wicker basket or something. If I see a towel on a chair I think it's taken. I'm not comfortable taking towels from tree stumps etc. There should be a designated space. I'd hate to take somebody's towel. Also the bathroom situation at the pool and hot tub. You have to go past the restaurant and lobby. Embarrassing in a hotel bath robe. Otherwise, no complaints. Great hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank staceywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Staceywalk,

Thanks for staying with the Hotel Paradox, we are so happy to hear that you will be back again with us. We are so happy you like the pool area. We will take a look at how we offer pool towels and try and get something set up outdoors for this purpose. There is a bathroom adjacent to the bar area right by the Fitness Center so you can use the restroom there. However, there is a larger restroom in the Lobby area. Perhaps the one outside is not marked well enough. We will have a look to see if we can add another sign to draw greater attention to it for the future guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for a nice review.

Best,
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has only been opened for 7 months. It was really nice. The pool and spa were great. A guy gladly came and moved some chairs for my husband and I so we could be in the sun. A waitress came by and asked if we wanted drinks or something to eat. It was really first class service. The pool has cabanas that can be rented too. At night the fire pit is blazing!

The only thing we were not happy with was the temperature in our room. It wouldn't get cool enough for us. They are an eco-friendly hotel and their system works differently. I mentioned this to the front desk and they said they are working on that problem.

The restaurant was great! The food was fresh and fantastic. We would definitely come back to this hotel. It was great to get out of the fog of San Francisco and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor. They have lounge chairs outside you can sit on. The other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Paradox for a couple nights in March '13. Wonderful staff, great decor, clean, great pool/hot tub/pool bar. Overall a really special place in Santa Cruz - must stay, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: A first or second floor room with pool views - great little patio in front of each room to sit outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walshster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location for walking to the downtown shopping area. Stylish and modern hotel with high standard of service. Comfortable, well appointed rooms are unique and spaceous. Bar/pool/hot tub area is great for hanging out day and night.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool to get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business just recently. I want to say this hotel is great. Excellent service! Amazing staff. Very clean, and modern. I really like the dining area, my business associates and I enjoyed the food, and drinks along with the atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean and comfortable... Just love this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am a snob about hotels, having been brought up in the business world with a very generous expense account. Sadly, I am now an academic, with a very small budget for travel. So I have the taste for the finer things without the cash that usually it costs to attain the 5 star hotels I was weaned on.

Enter the Paradox - what a fitting name! Totally chic from the moment you step in with a stylish lobby, wonderful dining - ask for Alex, he is great!- fab staff- I am still raving about Esteffani and Cruz- and extremely comfy and luxurious rooms. I have been coming as a visitor for work to Santa Cruz for over 20 years, and have often bemoaned the fact that there were not any nice, conveniently located hotels. The Paradox is what I have been waiting for. I will return again, and am already counting down until my next trip.

Room Tip: Very reasonable upgrade costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#11 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing