We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Thousand Oaks
11
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We feel like we're biased writing about the hotel and service since we've stayed here dozens of times now over the past ten years and feel like the managers are old friends we're visiting. But I guess that's a complement in itself. Basically, it's very clean, always upgraded (new office/breakfast room now!), and airy -- not congested like most of the SC motels, and the service/management impecable.

It's amazing that all the ratings here are either at the top (most of them) or bottom, nothing in between. I guess most people only post when they're complaining and don't take the time to complement if things went well. And to the negative complaints -- mostly about policy notices, etc. -- that's a quick call to see how ludicrous they are. Even after so many stays, we're always reminded of their policies with each reservation. I agree with another poster that these complaints are to cover their own mistakes. Anyhow, try for yourself and see if you can 'slip one by' like that poster said.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 405 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2005

The hotel was so well kept, so tidy, we felt welcomed immediately. The counter clerk was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and cozy and we felt very comfortable there. This is a basic hotel with no breakfast, but so nice - we will always stay there on our return trips.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
SACRAMENTO
17
Reviewed May 3, 2005

I made my reservations 1 month in advance to my stay, at that time their cancellation policy was 24 hours in order to not get charged. I called 4 days in advance to cancel and was told I could not, because their policy had changed, it is now a 7 day cancellation period!! Even though my reservation was made prior to their policy change they still would not honor the 24 hour policy. I still cancelled and was charged in full for my reservation!!! Make sure to ask about policy changes, and beware!!

Stayed: May 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
17
Reviewed February 10, 2005

Looking for a great value in Santa Cruz?? This is our favorite. There's many choices in town, and we have stayed elsewhere (usually make 304 trips to Santa Cruz each year) with mixed results. But for the best bang for the dollar, stay at the Ramada on Water St.

The rooms are large and new. Great beds, nice bathrooms, perfect (free) breakfast, fantastic pool area. The managers are sooo sweet and friendly, we once even asked them to join us for dinner, but they had plans already. Each time we're there, we notice they improved something which is wonderful considering it usually wasn't wrong to start with. They say the owners prefer to "stay one step ahead" of things. They truly treat the place like their home, and you will too!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2004

I would never return!! Upon arrival we were informed that the door to our room had a "problem" lock and we just had to push hard. This door was more than a problem, it was broken. I can't understand why they gave us this room when the hotel wasn't completely booked. After the first night and bruises on my hands from pushing the door open, I asked to change rooms. We then had to move our stuff to a different room.

We returned home in the early evening to the new room to find the toilet had overflowed and was clogged. When we called the front desk we were told housekeeping was gone and they were "shocked" that we were having plumbing troubles. After several calls a young girl showed up with a plunger and WANTED ME to "plunge the toilet"!!! She finally did it herself, and when I asked who would cleanup the sewage water on the floor, she told me that we should do it ourselves since housekeeping was gone!! I asked to speak to a manager and she told me it was just her and that the manager was at dinner and did not want to be disturbed and that she couldn't change our room. The tiolet still didn't work, however we were forced to stay in the room.

In the morning they sent Housekeeping to "assist us", the maid said that the management was well aware of the "plumbing" problems. I also spoke to two other guests who were having plumbing problems and the lack of response. When I spoke to the manager all they did was refund $25, pathetic. This appears to be a family-run business with very little attention paid to "repeat customers".

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
15
Reviewed November 6, 2004

We've originally stayed at the Ramada Limited on Water Street two years ago (and many times since!). After previously trying 6-8 other motels in SC, we heard recommendations for two hotels in town from a variety of friends -- this Ramada (there's two in town, I think) and the Victorian Inn. Both came very highly recommended for their very clean and well-maintained rooms, pool, and property as well as exceptionally friendly staff. Turns out they are the same property -- the Ramada used to be the Victorian Inn, before they signed up with Ramada.

The only possible draw-back we heard was that they were firm and strict about their "no pets on the property" policy, reminding guests at reservation and check-in. As cat owners, I appreciate their stance and notification ahead of time, so we could plan accordingly. The cleanliness and quietness of the property was well worth the policy. The owners/managers are the friendliest and most gracious of hosts. The property is convenient to everything in town, and yet a block of the main thouroughfare (Ocean Street), so as to be quiet and relaxing. The pool is large and immaculate. Bedrooms (beds) and bathrooms are wonderfully clean and comfortable. The owners consistantly upgrade the property (during the off-season/days so as not to disturb guests).

BTW, our two-cents on the post re being turned away for extra people in the room.... whenever we make a reservation, staff asks us the # of guests in the room. The one time we tried for 5 in a room, we were politely advised that the limit is four, and would need to book two rooms (insurance/fire laws to follow and policy of maintaining quality rooms rather than risk damage and over-abuse with too many people). Another policy I appreciate and am thankful for. I cannot possibly believe that the managers could be close to being the rude type the other reviewer claimed. My guess is that she was trying to "slide one by" even after learning the policy and is complaining to cover her follies. Try calling them/staying there for yourself and see.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Martinez,CA
18
Reviewed September 7, 2004

Never actually stayed in our room. I called the day of our arrival to ask for a roll away bed. They said they dont have them and asked how many people. I told them 2 adults and 3 kids. They then told me we couldnt stay because they only allowed 4 people. No where on their website or anywhere else was this stated. The manager said we would be charged for both nights because we didnt give enough notice. I told him I didnt cancel, he wont let me stay. I called Ramada Corp. and they called the manager, Customer Care at Ramada Corp said they didnt know why the manager was being so unreasonable and filled a complaint against this location. The nightmare continued when we showed up at the hotel to have 4 of us stay. The manager and his wife were rude and they made us feel very uncomforable. They never tried to help us come up with a solution or offer to help us find another place to stay.(all the places I called were booked) Needless to say, these two moms and their 3 children under 8 years old had to hit the hwy back home at 11:30PM. Will NEVER go there again!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
1 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#32 of 54 in Santa Cruz
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Santa Cruz

Address: 516 Water St, Ocean Street and Water Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $74 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Ramada Limited Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Ramada Limited Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, USA Today Newspaper and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz Wharf. Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like an outdoor seasonal heated pool and guest patio. There's even a free continental breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Limited Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz Water Street Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Ramada Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing