We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited, in service and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2004

I would never return!! Upon arrival we were informed that the door to our room had a "problem" lock and we just had to push hard. This door was more than a problem, it was broken. I can't understand why they gave us this room when the hotel wasn't completely booked. After the first night and bruises on my hands from pushing the door open, I asked to change rooms. We then had to move our stuff to a different room.

We returned home in the early evening to the new room to find the toilet had overflowed and was clogged. When we called the front desk we were told housekeeping was gone and they were "shocked" that we were having plumbing troubles. After several calls a young girl showed up with a plunger and WANTED ME to "plunge the toilet"!!! She finally did it herself, and when I asked who would cleanup the sewage water on the floor, she told me that we should do it ourselves since housekeeping was gone!! I asked to speak to a manager and she told me it was just her and that the manager was at dinner and did not want to be disturbed and that she couldn't change our room. The tiolet still didn't work, however we were forced to stay in the room.

In the morning they sent Housekeeping to "assist us", the maid said that the management was well aware of the "plumbing" problems. I also spoke to two other guests who were having plumbing problems and the lack of response. When I spoke to the manager all they did was refund $25, pathetic. This appears to be a family-run business with very little attention paid to "repeat customers".

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 393 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
15
Reviewed November 6, 2004

We've originally stayed at the Ramada Limited on Water Street two years ago (and many times since!). After previously trying 6-8 other motels in SC, we heard recommendations for two hotels in town from a variety of friends -- this Ramada (there's two in town, I think) and the Victorian Inn. Both came very highly recommended for their very clean and well-maintained rooms, pool, and property as well as exceptionally friendly staff. Turns out they are the same property -- the Ramada used to be the Victorian Inn, before they signed up with Ramada.

The only possible draw-back we heard was that they were firm and strict about their "no pets on the property" policy, reminding guests at reservation and check-in. As cat owners, I appreciate their stance and notification ahead of time, so we could plan accordingly. The cleanliness and quietness of the property was well worth the policy. The owners/managers are the friendliest and most gracious of hosts. The property is convenient to everything in town, and yet a block of the main thouroughfare (Ocean Street), so as to be quiet and relaxing. The pool is large and immaculate. Bedrooms (beds) and bathrooms are wonderfully clean and comfortable. The owners consistantly upgrade the property (during the off-season/days so as not to disturb guests).

BTW, our two-cents on the post re being turned away for extra people in the room.... whenever we make a reservation, staff asks us the # of guests in the room. The one time we tried for 5 in a room, we were politely advised that the limit is four, and would need to book two rooms (insurance/fire laws to follow and policy of maintaining quality rooms rather than risk damage and over-abuse with too many people). Another policy I appreciate and am thankful for. I cannot possibly believe that the managers could be close to being the rude type the other reviewer claimed. My guess is that she was trying to "slide one by" even after learning the policy and is complaining to cover her follies. Try calling them/staying there for yourself and see.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Martinez,CA
18
Reviewed September 7, 2004

Never actually stayed in our room. I called the day of our arrival to ask for a roll away bed. They said they dont have them and asked how many people. I told them 2 adults and 3 kids. They then told me we couldnt stay because they only allowed 4 people. No where on their website or anywhere else was this stated. The manager said we would be charged for both nights because we didnt give enough notice. I told him I didnt cancel, he wont let me stay. I called Ramada Corp. and they called the manager, Customer Care at Ramada Corp said they didnt know why the manager was being so unreasonable and filled a complaint against this location. The nightmare continued when we showed up at the hotel to have 4 of us stay. The manager and his wife were rude and they made us feel very uncomforable. They never tried to help us come up with a solution or offer to help us find another place to stay.(all the places I called were booked) Needless to say, these two moms and their 3 children under 8 years old had to hit the hwy back home at 11:30PM. Will NEVER go there again!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2003

Recently I traveled to Santa Cruz to reunite an octagenarian with her granddaughter for a graduation and subsequent celebration...I arranged the accommodations at the Ramada Limited and we were both very comfortable and pleased. The owners were gracious, the atmosphere was serene and we thoroughly enjoyed our six day stay there! As a result of this trip I plan to travel more frequently to that area and use Ramada's....

7  Thank montmartrepetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank konkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank hgsp291095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacopoattardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Santa Cruz

Address: 516 Water St, Ocean Street and Water Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $85 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Ramada Limited Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Ramada Limited Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, USA Today Newspaper and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz Wharf. Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like an outdoor seasonal heated pool and guest patio. There's even a free continental breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz Water Street Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Ramada Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing