We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Folks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Personally, I don't expect a whole lot out of a Ramada. We were looking for a Hilton but they were booked. This Ramada location wasn't the best place we've stayed but we were satisfied. The room was clean, the staff was helpful and polite. When they told us they had a complimentary breakfast I was skeptical but it turned out to be pretty good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69heavychevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

The room was great, very big bed and comfy. Breakfast included and had a good choice. Staff were great, even let us put our luggage behind the desk on the day we checked out until we were ready to collect it (was gettin a late nite bus). Great value, wud recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raindance_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Four of us stayed at the Ramada in Santa Cruz. The price included breakfast (fresh-cooked waffles!). So, for four people, it was extremely affordable. Room was clean and smelled fresh. Furniture is basic, but that's okay. The front desk staff was very, very helpful with suggestions on what to do and how to get there. We really enjoyed the drive up the coast to the Natural Bridges State Park; it was the perfect, short excursion to fill the time before the Boardwalk opened. Even the housekeeping lady was nice enough to offer to take a group picture of us when she noticed we were taking pictures.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacramentoMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This motel just barely passed our standards for a decent night's stay. In fact, the first room we were given did not. Although it was a non-smoking room, it reeked of cigarettes. So we asked for another. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. We needed a room on the ground floor, so our choices were limited to a room with a tub which had a crack in it. But we were warned before-hand about the defect. Both rooms had chairs with very badly stained upholstery. Strangely, there was a truly wrecked chair outside the housekeeping room that seemed to be used for breaks. But it doesn't present a very good image of the motel. On the plus side, their continental breakfast was better than expected: hard boiled eggs, waffles, cereal, toast, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Three-men-and-a-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

First of all, this room was NOT "$60" as stated in earlier reviews. It was $150.

The two chairs by the entryway were each stained with unknown substances in numerous locations. A broken spring was jutting out of the bottom of one chair. A large piece of wooden furniture along the wall (a TV stand and chest of drawers) had stains and discolorations over half of its surface, and the veneer was coming apart and chipping away. The furniture was obviously ancient in addition to its poor quality.

Contrary to what some of the other reviewers stated, this was definitely not a "QUIET" motel. The neighbors were noisy until 11:30 p.m., and people running up and down the stairs were noisy as well.

Conclusion: Don't stay here. There are definitely better options for the same price in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

When you hear the name Ramada, it sounds like a nice place to stay, right? Well not this time... the room smelled like a hospital room and the head board had "head stains" yuk! My husband and I itched all night and I mentioned it to the manager and he got very upset and started to raise his voice at me so I paid my room and left. The room all in all was somewhat clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. But to come back, most likely not. TGB

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TZGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I came with my teenage daughter and her friend for an overnight stay before a sporting event, and assumed that the Ramada name meant we could assume a certain standard. On the positive side, the room was generally clean and had a modern shower which worked nicely. They had a good morning breakfast that was appropriate for that level of motel. The exterior is generally well maintained and the girls were fascinated by the ducks that reside around the pool area. On the negative side, the beds were worn out in the middles, the lighting was exceptionally institutional (though I understand benefits of fluorescents). The biggest negative was the inadequate construction that allowed for a lot of noise when the patrons above us were simply walking in their rooms. Incredible amount of creaking with every footstep. Other patrons bothered the girls inappropriately as we went to our rooms and there was so much noise from other guests, we had to call the front desk. Would avoid staying there again. Front desk person appeared indifferent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesky4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
1.0 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#32 of 54 in Santa Cruz
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Santa Cruz

Address: 516 Water St, Ocean Street and Water Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $73 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Ramada Limited Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Ramada Limited Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, USA Today Newspaper and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz Wharf. Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like an outdoor seasonal heated pool and guest patio. There's even a free continental breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz Water Street Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Ramada Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing