We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Was Filthy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach View Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach View Inn Motel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Modesto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It Was Filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

They said they were AAA approved--not true. She even took my AAA card and said my discount had been applied. We went to our room put our bags in the room and went to dinner.
When we returned ( about 8:30pm) to our room I noticed a few ants on the table. Then a few more. There were ants on the bed too. I noticed how FILTHY our room was. I went to the office to ask for another room and she said they were full. I could have some clean sheets assuming I would change my own!!
I asked her if she had any bug spray and it was right there behind the counter!! I paid $165.00 for the night.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
63
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

The Beachview is okay for one night. It's not especially nice in any way, but it does have a bed and a bathroom and a carpet that many years ago was probably clean and new. On the plus side, it is within walking distance of the wharf, the amusement park, the ocean (for those tough enough to brave 59 degree water), and west cliff drive, which you really should walk along. As far as I'm concerned, Santa Cruz itself is a one night stay, so I guess this hotel works out fine. It's relatively cheap. To get anything nicer I'm sure you would have to spend at least twice as much. And they let you have coffee and a pastry in the morning.

  • Liked — It had a bed
  • Disliked — It just seemed old and very used
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jimhBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

Arrived in the evening and were initially a bit unsure about the area, but after a walk along the Wharf we arrived back to realise how convenient (but quiet) the location was and our concerns were dispelled.

The following morning we arranged a later check out time (no problem) and walked into Downtown (about 15 minutes away) , on returning we asked if we could leave our car in the car park while we visited the Boardwalk (just over 5 minutes walk), that was no problem either.

The room (214) was a decent size (in fact there was a lot more space in the bathroom area than in places we'd paid a lot more for, and the toiletries were better quality than expected) it was very clean and perfectly comfortable - especially bearing in mind the price - around $60.

  • Liked — Value for money!!
  • Disliked — those pillows!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatNameIsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

Stayed with my girlfriend at the end of April 2007. It is great for location, walking distance to Pacific Ave and the boardwalk and pier. If just looking for somewhere close to activities, it serves its purpose. There were no other amenities that would make me choose this inn. But we had absolutely no problems. It is very cheap as well. The only complaint I would have is that the pillows are the size of the end of a Q-tip. If I were coming to Santa Cruz again, I might look for another place to stay, but had no problem with our stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed/pillows
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gclark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

We stayed at the Beachview Inn on a midweek night in April 2007 and paid $66 (£34) for a room with a sea view and were perfectly happy. It’s clean, reasonably sized, in a good location with friendly and polite staff. We stayed in other much more expensive and dirty hotels/motels on the Californian coast. All in all, for the price, I’d recommend staying here (and I'm a fussy person - so my other half would tell you!).

  • Liked — Good value, clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — no earl grey tea!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

A clean, simple two-story motel about 2-minutes (walk) from the beach. Though certainly not beachfront, for $70 per night, the room did technically provide a "slice" of ocean view in the
distance in between the neighboring buildings. The motel itself was staggered upon a hill within a small, paved enclosure, containing about 18 parking spaces. Being on a hill, the rooms with the higher numbers had the better views (Room 215 having the best), with each consecutively lower number having a slightly less favorable view (I would guess several rooms have little to no view). Ask for the 2nd floor prior to arrival as I did. Upon arrival, I was given Room 208. Since there appeared to be plenty of other vacancies (this being a cold snap in mid-January), I asked if I could switch to either Rooms 214 or 215 and was told "yes" without any problems. I was given the key for Room 214. The room itself was basic, small, about 12' x 10' plus a bathroom and vanity, with some minor accents such as seashore motiff wall hanging, decorated bedspread and ceiling border. A definite plus was the microwave oven sitting atop a small refrigerator. Although the LCD display on the microwave did not work, the oven itself worked fine by pressing the buttons "blindly." The TV was small and the remoted control was incorrectly programmed (skipping over some channels and mislabeling others), but all the main cable channels were available plus HBO.

  • Liked — Close to beach, microwave, refrigerator
  • Tips/Secrets — higher number rooms on 2nd floor have better views (215 is the best)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toddalex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2006

we stayed at the beachview inn motel in santa cruz for one night when passing through the town. it was in a great location, right near the beach and boardwalk, and close enough to walk into town for food in the evening. the owners were friendly and the room was clean, with a queen bed and bathroom for $70. There was little character to the hotel, but plenty of free parking off the street, and breakfast provided in the morning. For two students staying for a very short time it was perfect, but i wouldnt want to stay there if i was looking for somewhere special, or for a long stay. Ask for a room on the upper level.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank ellewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View Inn Motel

Property: Beach View Inn Motel
Address: 50 Front St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5421
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach View Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach View Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Hotel Santa Cruz
Beach View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing