We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - Friendly Managers”
Review of Beachview inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachview inn
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful location - Friendly Managers”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I am so happy that we chose to stay at this place! The price for us was very decent, considering that we were only half a block from the pier and so close to the beach boardwalk. The room we stayed in was clean, had a mini-fridge, microwave (which helped for the leftovers from this taco bar across the street), color tv (with expanded cable), and the wireless internet was also free. The Management couple were very nice and professional. They treated us like people, not like most hotels we've been to in the past, where the owner or manager seems so miserable. We will definitely plan to make a trip back to Santa Cruz, and reserve at the Beach View Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJezebelle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
67
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont Shore, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

While many others reviewed this hotel as a good value and that they payed a good price, we did not. Since this was the fiirst main weekend of summer, we paid very high summer rates for this weekend we stayed. Two nights with taxes, etc was $375 per room, and we had two rooms since their were two families.
Not sure where to begin, but we booked two rooms that supposedly had two queen beds in each. We got one room that had two double beds and one room that had one queen bed. In the room with the double beds the husband was hanging off the bed when sleeping, and he is only 5'10". The beds were so hard and uncomfortable you could barely sleep.
I would not (or let any of the kids) walk around without socks or shoes on. I could only get inside the bed sheets cause there was a overwhelming smell of bleach that was somehow comforting. Nobody sat on the comforter, it was dirty and stained.
While we were here one of the rooms toilet broke, but was fixed that evening once they got the part. The other larger room's AC did not work, and they were told that it could not be fixed. Being so hot and the beds so uncomfortable, it made it so hard to sleep.
Location was fine, and while I did feel safe at the hotel the other people at the hotel where very seedy bikers and surf bums. I felt out of place with our families there. Walls are paper thin and I could hear the neighbors blowing their nose and even going to the bathroom.
The "continental breakfast" is coffee/orange juice/milk with a tub of cereal and prepackages sweet rolls that seemed stale. It was not even worth calling it a breakfast.
While the office help was very nice it did not make up for dirtiness you feel at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Tucson AZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This was a good value for location and low price for a room with an ocean view (overlooking buildings, etc. to see the ocean. )
I stayed on a weekday in late April and it was a bit cold and rainy, The hotel was quiet and provided basic amenities, including microwave and mini-frig. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing- coffee, packaged pastries, cereal and milk. Staff were pleasant, but the office closed early in the evening until 8 a.m.
I would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

stayed here for 4 days since it was a good price on hotels.com, cheaper than any other motel prices for those days on various websites. the check-in person was always very nice, helpful and answered all my questions about where to shop, how to get to places, etc. the motel is right by the santa cruz wharf and boardwalk, with frr parking.
the room and furniture reminded me of motel 6s- in a good way, basic but clean .
nice to have a fridge and microwave and expanded cable. the bed was very comfortable. my room had a partial ocean view.
only compalints: breakfast isn't available until 8 a.m. and the walls were thin but not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Very basic room - good size - clean enough but certainly nothing special. Right for the price. But the winner is the location. Right across from the pier. Free on site parking. Breakfast was pretty basic but who cares when the price is so cheap (we paid $88 per night). The lady at the front desk was really lovely to deal with. Free in-room WiFi did not work for us as we have a Mac - only works for PC. Happy to recommend if you are happy with true budget style.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This motel is less than one star. The rooms smelled of urine (more than one room smelled), the carpet is threadbare indoor/outdoor carpet that at one time was green but is now a nauseating shade of black. The staff sprinkle that powder room deodorizer all over the floor to mask the stench. The beds are misshapen lumps covered with dirty smelly spreads. The decor (NOT the focus of this review, just so you know) is best described as college frat-house rejects.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averagetraveler0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Good budget motel for a great price (thru Expedia) at a great location near the wharf, beach & Boardwalk and within walking distance of downtown. Includes free in room wi-fi, extensive cable TV selection, microwave & refrigerator. The complementary Continental breakfast includes 2 kinds of cereal with milk, orange juice, pastries & coffee.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview inn

Property: Beachview inn
Address: 50 Front Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachview inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Beachview inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Hotel Santa Cruz
Beach View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing