We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room at adecent price on hotels.com”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachview inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachview inn
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“nice room at adecent price on hotels.com”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

stayed here for 4 days since it was a good price on hotels.com, cheaper than any other motel prices for those days on various websites. the check-in person was always very nice, helpful and answered all my questions about where to shop, how to get to places, etc. the motel is right by the santa cruz wharf and boardwalk, with frr parking.
the room and furniture reminded me of motel 6s- in a good way, basic but clean .
nice to have a fridge and microwave and expanded cable. the bed was very comfortable. my room had a partial ocean view.
only compalints: breakfast isn't available until 8 a.m. and the walls were thin but not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
64
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Very basic room - good size - clean enough but certainly nothing special. Right for the price. But the winner is the location. Right across from the pier. Free on site parking. Breakfast was pretty basic but who cares when the price is so cheap (we paid $88 per night). The lady at the front desk was really lovely to deal with. Free in-room WiFi did not work for us as we have a Mac - only works for PC. Happy to recommend if you are happy with true budget style.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

This motel is less than one star. The rooms smelled of urine (more than one room smelled), the carpet is threadbare indoor/outdoor carpet that at one time was green but is now a nauseating shade of black. The staff sprinkle that powder room deodorizer all over the floor to mask the stench. The beds are misshapen lumps covered with dirty smelly spreads. The decor (NOT the focus of this review, just so you know) is best described as college frat-house rejects.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averagetraveler0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Davis, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Good budget motel for a great price (thru Expedia) at a great location near the wharf, beach & Boardwalk and within walking distance of downtown. Includes free in room wi-fi, extensive cable TV selection, microwave & refrigerator. The complementary Continental breakfast includes 2 kinds of cereal with milk, orange juice, pastries & coffee.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Nice and relatively spacious rooms, friendly staff, great location (just around the corner to the beach). and all this for a budget price! breakfast included.

I traveled with my boyfriend and we spontaneously stayed a night, which was the right choice, so that we could enjoy the beach and the promenade the whole evening. The building is a little bit older, but that hasn't worried me at all. All in all a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

An 'older' facility, but maintained well. Room 209 had a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was nice and helpful. Bed was reasonable, bathroom had small amount of mildew ONLY around the trim area, no big deal. Carpet was older, but not gross like some. Free WiFi with the password from the front desk worked well (2500/450k). You can see the ocean from the room, but it is about 300 yards away. Very reasonable and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Let me start by saying that growing up we vacationed in Santa Cruz, Capitola, Aptos basically every summer. We hardly ever stayed in hotels but would usually camp or rent a beach house with other families. It wasn't until later in life (currently 34) that our family would go the hotel route. We have been to several different hotels now and have come to realize you are not going to find luxurious hotels in Santa Cruz period. If you want a nice boutique hotel you better expect to pay over $200 and at that price if you don't know what to your getting your bound to be dissapointed.

On to the Beachview Motel. We booked directly through the website for a Thursday night, one nights stay. My parents and sister, husband and nephew were staying at the Terrace Court, which is our hotel of choice but at $189 a night we weren't willing to spend the cash this time. Our total price with tax was $88.

The Beachview is located three minutes walking distance from the wharf and the beach and about a ten minute stroll to the boardwalk. The location is perfect. We arrived about 11 AM and check in wasn't until 4PM. We decided to pull in to the motel and ask if we could park our car there until check-in but they allowed us to check in because there were rooms available. The hotel was only about 50 % full the night we were there.

The rooms are very basic, we had a queen bed and the room also had a mini fridge and microwave. The room was clean and worth the money that we paid. I snagged some Sunny D and a Danish for my wife in the morning from there very basic continental breakfast. The most important thing for me at a motel in Santa Cruz is to feel safe and we definitely felt safe in this motel.

As far as Santa Cruz standards go I would give the Beachview a four out of five. We would book again

  • Liked — Location, Clean Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccoakley2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview inn

Property: Beachview inn
Address: 50 Front Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachview inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachview inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Hotel Santa Cruz
Beach View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing