We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decently maintained 60 year old Motel w/ excellent location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decently maintained 60 year old Motel w/ excellent location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Room #208, Two bed Suite (1 King & 1 Full in a very small separate room)

OVERALL: (Solid 2.5 of 5 motel)
We gave it the bump to 3 for its location only. Decent little 60's "Hole-in-the-wall" Motel that's only one block from the beach. Overall clean appearance. Not dirty feeling at all. Main complaint being the very slight musty and smokey smell. Rooms are non-smoking however there are ashtrays outside every room. No A/C means windows and doors are open and people are smoking outside your door. We could hear people talking on the balcony late into the night. Windows stayed closed to avoid smoke and noise.

POSITIVES:
1. Location-location-location! Note that some of the nicer places are only 1/2 mile from the beach
2. Room was clean and well maintained
3. Free WiFi internet was very fast... however it dropped out periodically
4. Friendly staff
5. Room included two fans to supplement the lack of A/C
6. Good ice maker available

NEGATIVES:
1. Price: Paid $119 with $10 military discount. Higher rated hotels, only 1/2 mile from beach, were $89-$109.
2. Smell: Very slight musty and smokey smell
3. Temp: Warm and mildly humid in room (with fans engaged) due to lack of A/C
4. Bedding: Thin linens slightly dated. Not to par with most $120 per night hotels
5: Towels : Need replacing as they were stained, thin, rough and were insufficient to completely dry your body with he single towel provided per person (2 total)
6. Bathroom/Shower:
- Sink did not drain properly
- Toilet barely flushed
- Shower head low and has no hand held extension. 5 minute "hour-glass" timer in shower to help you avoid running out of warm water
- Window covered in paint over-spray and is very loose fitting thus hard to close
- Transom from carpet to bathroom tile missing (carpet tack strip exposed)
7. Accessibility to Room: Pulling heavy luggage to room wash challenging as there is no elevator and you have to go both up and down stairs to get to most of the rooms on the second floor. We had to squeeze between cars with our luggage being careful not to scratch cars as there is no access to the main stair case.

Location is king and that is why it was sufficient for our needs.

Room Tip: - Avoid 2nd floor if you have heavy bags. - Check the temp of the room as it may be a bit warm in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayson_and_Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
19
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stay in this hotel often and the location is perfect.
Nice small walk to just about what you need, and the rooms are always clean.
They jack up the prices on weekends though...............................

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madigan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When I booked over the phone, the person was really friendly. After booking a $ 265 room, I thought was a good one, since was the same as I was paying for the Disney resort, in Anaheim.
Such a mistake. Not ever air conditioned?
The bathroom window is open to the neighborhood to watch you?
Very very run down, loud, one chair in a suite, no patio, no porch, no view, parking for one small car ( I was driving my pick up) and no coffee or drinking water.

Seems the kind of motel we see in the movies, where bad guys hide.

The location is good, however, if the intentions is to be close to the Amusement Park.
The guy at the front desk tried to be helpful ( I guess trying to compensate the really poor deal)
He also told me that the breakfast is included with the room. I : Cool, where is that? Here, at this desk, we can arrange a couple of things. Decided to leave the place 5 AM.

Room Tip: Find a good room in a different hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loliv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice spacious room. Loved the fact that it had a mini fridge and microwave and direct TV for the night. Beautiful views from our room. Super comfy and perfect or what we needed. Not badly priced and no deposit if your paying with a credit card.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lauryn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Bought 2 room suite - got 2 room garbage. Very run down, loud, cramped, one chair in a suite, no patio, no porch, no view, parking for one small car, no soap, no coffee, toilet paper 4 miles for 30 cents, rude help, it was very well located if you want to take a bunch of kids to the Boardwalk & have a hole to sleep in, this is it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antistatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here weekend of June 27th in a family suite $269.00 a night
what a joke lead me to believe the family suite was two rooms with a common door not the case at all. two bedroom unit with one bathroom not real good for four people . spend the extra $50.00 and stay at the beach street inn right on the beach with a pool
the fridge didn't work, the toilet ran all night long, bedroom window was painted shut

this place was like staying in a third world country
and the continental breakfast i guess if you call coffee a continental breakfast
worst place i have ever stayed

Room Tip: shop around you can find better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've stayed here for several weeks so far now. I think it's a great location, overlooking the boardwalk roller coaster rides, and the beach. You can't beat it for the price. It's two blocks from the beach. The management is friendly. I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have an adjoining room (with door) containing a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#24 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#35 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 311 2nd St, Next to Boardwalk Bowl, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5494 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located less than a 5-minute walk from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Coconut Grove. Under new management January of 2014, the Fireside Inn has been completely renovated to give the guest the best experience in the area. Other attractions within 5 miles are Lighthouse Field State Beach, University of California Santa Cruz, and the DeLaveaga Golf Course. Downtown Santa Cruz is a 10 minute walk, with dining, museums and shopping surrounding the Fireside Inn.The Fireside Inn Santa Cruz features free Wi-Fi. Free parking is included. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished with standard amenities including free high speed internet access, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock radio, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn By The Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Motel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing