We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
burlington Wa
1 review
“Wonderful Family Experiance”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This motel was a wonderful and family friendly place to stay. The staff was super efficient, and friendly. The rooms were family friendly we stayed in a room with a kitchen and a patio that was geat for our family and kids who are younger. We have a Saint Bernard and he was able to stay with us very pet friendly. The view is unbeatable the closenes to the warf, beach and boardwalk can not be any better. Staying at the Edgewater was wonderful and we will deffinately stay there again it is an unbeatable place to stay if you want to experiance the full feel of the Santa Cruz beach boardwalk experiance and have a good time with your family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobuckeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    9
    10
    17
See reviews for
62
59
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Well, travelling on Valentines Day turned out to be cold and rainy, but how happy we were to find this cozy little place right next to the beach. We rented #118, the "Captain's Suite", which is the largest, fanciest, and most expensive room there, and were absolutely impressed. This was by far the cleanest place we have stayed in probably the last five years. The kitchen was modern, and fully equipped with dishes and flatware and even coffee filters! The hosts apparently took efforts to think of everything. The room was beautiful inside; the motel was beautiful outside, even though it was winter. Between rainstorms, we ventured out to walk down the wharf and watch the waves and have lunch. The rest of the time we stayed indoors pretty much, next to the fireplace, and watched the rain. This place has a jacuzzi tube. We wanna see this place in the summer, and will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huzzah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Me and my housband just returned from a Northern California Trip where we spent time in Napa, Santa Cruz, Carmel... The whole trip was great, but the time spent in the Edgewater Beach Motel was something special.
They have lots of different sized units, with kitchens, for big families, kids (washer-dryers), for romantic gethaways...whatever one needs. They are all very clean, bright and all have new and beautyful kitchens and baths.
We chose and stayed in a romantic little unit with a jacuzzi, fireplace and a bright huge window and pathio with a view on the ocean and beach. (By the way, it's only about 2 minutes from the beach, as well as from the boardwalk and from the center.)
It was kind of stormy, windy, so we could hear the waves, the ocean. It was the perfect rest and relax time.
I would recommend it to everybody headed to santa cruz!!!

  • Liked — design, cleaniness, view
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank utazo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed at the Edgewater in July 2009. The rates were expensive, but it was a last-minute trip and they allowed dogs. The pool was not heated and the furnishings were old. I was okay with that because I was happy they allowed dogs. I thoroughly cleaned all dishes/cooking utensils and even took out my garbage. I requested a walk-through and was told it was not necessary. Then I find that I've been charged an extra fee for "pet stains". My dog is a litter box-trained Pug. She doesn't urinate indoors outside of her litter box. There were stains in that room when we checked in. I even requested a walk-through when we left and was told it wasn't necessary. They are now claiming that they had the carpet cleaned the day before. That may be true, but there were stains on that rug when I rented it. Now they are charging me an extra $367.39. Watch out for these guys.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewaterbeach, manager at Edgewater Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
This person came with a pet. The carpet in the room had been freshly cleaned the day before thier arrival. upon check out there was 13 pet urine spots. Every guest that checks in with a pet is required to read and sign the pet rules for our motel. it state that if your pet damages the room, ie pees on the carpet, you will have to pay for such damages. the carpet had to be re-cleaned, and we even lost the rent on the room the next night. She was charged for these damages that her pet caused. We have 8x10 photos of the damages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Plus-The location was great. Right across from warf/boardwalk. The kitchen was a good size. We had a patio view of ocean. The staff was quick in getting us extra towels and soap. They have a washing machine on-site so you can do laundy. Minus--no a/c. Windows were hard to open. Pool was cold but many kids were swimming. The room next to us kept using their jacuzzi tub and the jets were loud. Overall it was nice and I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovis for now
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I came to Santa Cruz with no expectations, no set plans (except hang out on the beach with a good book) and no planned course as to where I was going to be sleeping either. I went to a few overpriced, snotty hotels down town and was completely relieved when I came to the Edgewater Beach Motel. I was about done looking for somewhere to spend the night and sick of snotty receptionists. Then I walked in the office and my mood completely changed. I felt very comfortable where I was and was happy to meet such nice people who really made me feel like they cared. Plus a bonus, I got to have my dog in the room with me!!! Nothing accept a comacazee and a good book could make this any better. I strongly reccomend this motel to anyone who wants to be right next to the beach, the boardwalk, and the wharf. It's all there. And I have to disagree with another review written, this is not a strip motel, it's classy and exciting. The rooms are like mini apartments and very comfortable. The view is just as amazing. (especially at night!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscountrygal137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville,ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Relaxing is what this garden motel is about..Spacious suites with a full kitchen saved us alot of money with gradchildren. The pool was great with BBQ and picnic area with ocean views. the staff was helpful and nice, greeting us each morning.LOcation can't be beat. Two minute walk to the wharf or boardwalk. We will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommeyfrommodesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing