We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After the stress of work, we found a great place to relax and enjoy nature. The fireplace came in handy against the cool ocean breeze. It was great hearing the crash of the ocean waves and the bark of the sea lions. The beds are super comfortable. We walked out on the wharf and had a wonderful breakfast. Saw the Monarch Butterflies in Natural Bridges State Park. Staff was efficient, professional and friendly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fireplaces. Each room is totally different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
64
60
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carson City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited Santa Cruz with my wife for a weekend romantic getaway! We love Edgewater for the variety of rooms and they are all different! We stayed in a wonderful room with a full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. Beds were very comfortable. Loved that I could make my own coffee in the morning! It was an easy walk to the Boardwalk and Wharf for great restaurants. Also good location to visit Carmel and Monterey. Private parking (free!) is a plus! Dee and Barry were friendly and accommodating...giving it a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. They showed us a room that would accommodate our kids and grand-kids so our next visit will definitely be with the entire family...and the grand-kids will love the pool too!

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms because they are all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Traveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Me my wife and 2 kids had an amazing time!!! Loved going to the board walk and loved enjoying the beach and then coming back to a nice clean room everyday!!!! Also loved how we had reserved parking!!! Really great place :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorreta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved the room!!! also loved the bath OMG it was awesome!!! we were in 110 And boy me and my wife loved that room great location as well!!!! Loved how close the beach was and also loved the staff as well. like I said before cant wait till the next trip!!! :)

Room Tip: Loved 110 great Tub and awesome bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was set on staying at The Dream one of the newer hotels right on the beach. But babe wanted to explore more. So we drove around and stumbled upon Edgewater Beach Motel.

Such a lovely place!!! We had a room with a see through fireplace, a private deck with a lovely view of the beach and a sunken jacuzzi bath tub.

The gentleman at the counter was extremely helpful with our late night check in. Answering questions and giving us the number to the best local pizza joint.

Our room was spacious and clean. The room had all the extras you could need. Flat Screen TV, mini fridge, DVD player, microwave and AWESOME patio furniture.

In short I would stay at Edgewater Beach Motel again and again. I've always loved Santa Cruz and now I have a favorite haunt to stay while I play.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrideBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carson city
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Traveling through Santa Cruz on the way down the coast and found this wonderful, unique motel! The room was so comfortable and everything I needed, including a kitchen! Close to the wharf and boardwalk and I could walk there. All the rooms are different, recently renovated, clean and charming plus the bed was so comfortable! The staff (Barry and Dee) were helpful and full of information about the area and went out of their way to be great hosts. I am woman, traveling solo this trip and it is also a very safe location and I felt very comfortable there. The rooms may be a little higher priced than the other motels near the boardwalk....but remember that you get what youpay for! I can't wait to bring my family back here the next time I visit Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available. There is something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel was clean, room small but the bed was comfortable. Bottom line is I would not return. The place was empty so they should have upgraded us to a better room in my opinion- but maybe that is the difference between a motel and hotel not sure. I just think that the price was too high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing