We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals can enjoy the beach area too.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locals can enjoy the beach area too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We recently enjoyed a visit with friends in the Captain's Cabin and loved having dinner watching the ocean from the room. It is so beautiful and quiet and it really hits you that life is going on down below you but you don't hear a thing. The view is spectacular. We were treated very nicely by the staff and got a small tour of some of the rooms. We found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are so unique with fireplaces and jet tubs in some and kitchenettes and family friendly units in others. I look forward to another visit in the near future and a longer stay. It's a great getaway even if you are from the Santa Cruz area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    30
    8
    10
    17
See reviews for
60
57
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great Location, easy walk to Beach Boradwalk, Wharf, and Santa Cruz Garden Mall. The views of the ocean and surfers can't be beat. The Temperpedic beds are very comfortable and the staff were some of the best I've experienced in my travels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was so close to the beach! The staff was really friendly and attentive. The rooms are unique and cozy. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Different rooms have different views, so you can ask for the best one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here on 12/23 to 12/25 2011. I brought my dog Snoopy with me and it was so comfortable, clean and like a little beach apartment I didn't want to leave!!! I enjoyed the location to watch Cowell beach surfers and do some bar hopping at night WALKING of course...enjoyed the bar at the end called Olitas!!! and there is a great place to eat and dring called IDEAL just at the end of the hotel driveway...Inside the rooms the dual glass fireplace is so great, the owners are so accommodating and welcoming I literally felt at home. There are 17 different rooms and themes I want to take 16 more weekends to stay in each of the rooms at least once!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esparto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great view!! Walking distance to the Boardwalk. Great experience as a whole!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving stay at this hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous and treated us like a five star hotel. It has a great view of Santa Cruz beach from the top of the hill and simple, easy access down the hill about maybe 300 meters to the beach. The room was perfect for us with a microwave and fridge. The huge bath tub surprised me too. If you want an easy location with quick access to the Pacific Ocean this is the place for you. Perfect little deck area to sit quietly and watch the waves and world go by too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

The room was nice and clean. The room had a fireplace that was in the wall between the room and the bathroom. Very nice while sitting in the jacuzzi tub. Located 50 yards from the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GONMAD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#20 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#25 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#24 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing