We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hang and meal”
Review of The Picnic Basket

The Picnic Basket
Ranked #8 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
New England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome hang and meal”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stopped by for coffee and a blackberry turnover. Ended up staying for dinner and dessert. Excellent quality food. Loved the butternut squash soup and salads. Interesting ice cream flavors. Has the feel of a coffee shop as there is not a lot of seating. Would go back next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    117
    37
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“locals stopped in to say how much they loved it”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stopped in for breakfast, not too much on the menu, but the things we tried were out of this world. Everything tasted so fresh and hand made. Great care has been taken to make the place and food very sustainable and tat is always a plus. While we were there a local family was just leaving and raving about it and some others came in as we left - that really says alot in tourist rich places. The home made jam was fantastic and the roasted walnuts were incredible, great local coffee too

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The espresso is excellent and the specialty foods they prepare are delicious and thoughtfully prepared. Everyone has been friendly when we've been there. We stay nearby and love dropping in for coffee or lunch or picnic items to take on the run.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Drop on into the Picnic Basket”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The owners have done a great job with Penny Creamery and now the Picnic Basket. i came in for a coffee and an ice cream for dessert. The service was good and the ice cream decadent. Hope more folks discover this eatery.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwiseSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Bad, But Nothing special”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I wanted to like this place. Great location - right across from the beach. The coffee drinks were fine. Fresh squeezed orange juice was literally warm - disgusting. The other food (frittata, turkey sandwich) was fine. IF you're staying nearby and in a rush, this place is fine. But no need to seek it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Picnic Basket also viewed

 

Been to The Picnic Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing