We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive a small car!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Drive a small car!”
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The place was fine, in good repair & clean. The parking lot is a horror show, for driving vacations we leave the commuter at home & drive the behemoth, bad move here! Parking in the itty bitty parking lot was an adventure. The other adventure was walking to the Boardwalk, we chose to cut down the alley from the parking lot instead of on the street, WOW! I thought we were in the third world, poverty, filth & twenty-somethings with vocabularies like stevedores! Love the Giant Dipper.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    186
    78
    31
    21
See reviews for
195
167
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, or
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I've stayed at a lot of 5 star resorts - Four Seasons, Raffles, boutique hotels all over the world. Now, this place isn't luxury but it is updated, clean, comfortable beds & well located. Our family stayed here for one night as we passed through SC. We slept well & the kids loved it. For $79.00 it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I originally booked two rooms, but it turns out I just needed one at the last minute. The manager was very gracious and refunded the one room, even though he didn't have to. The room was modern and clean. I liked the flat screen TV! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErasmusCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I booked this hotel (with some misgivings) after reading the reviews on this site.

I've stayed in Super 8 motels before, but only when I had to, but this Super 8 was so nice! The owner was nice at the check in, but amusingly, when he gave me my key he said "your ocean view room." Of course, it wasn't an ocean view, but a view of the canal which was fine. I hadn't expected an ocean view.

The room had two very nice queen beds wtih appealing white bedding with a bit of color in the throws at the foot of the bed. The furniture was all dark wood and the carpet was industrial, but with a pleasant pattern. The walls had a nice warm paint. There was a flat screen tv with a wide screen. Also a table and chairs and a little refrigerator and a microwave. None of the appliances emited obnoxious noises. The bathroom was standard motel. There was a scratch on the bathroom door, but that didn't really bother me.

The room was quiet and comfortable and soothing. I really couldn't have asked for anything more for the price and convenience. It's just a nice walk away from the boardwalk and the wharf. There's a charming little store a block away, and a taqueria two blocks down. I took two long walks through the adjacent area and enjoyed the charm of all the small motels, the wharf, the houses perched on the hilside and the birds on the canal.

Obviously, the Dream Inn is the plush, wonderful spot on the bay in Santa Cruz, and I'll stay there too on another trip, but I can recommed this motel as a great place and especially great for the price. I was a bit afraid when I booked it, but don't be. Unless you've set yourself up for a 5 or 4 star hotel experience, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The room because of the modern tasteful decor.
  • Disliked — The stairway to the second floor is quite narrow so carrying even a small suitcase is a bit difficult.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mohabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF peninsula
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

After a bumper-to-bumper Labor Day ride to come over Rt 17 for what was to be a day trip, I decided it'd be fun to stay in Santa Cruz for the night. I found the Super 8 as it had a friendly clean street appeal (hanging baskets and such), and has an amazing proximity to beach, boardwalk, and restaurants (but just enough away to not hear or feel the crowds). I didn't even have to think about if to take a sweatshirt for the incoming night air since it's only 2ish blocks back to the room for any needs. It all made for a great stay.

The owners take obvious pride in their business and warmly welcome and accommodate their guests. Now, if they could do something to make the holiday traffic drive back over 17 easier--but if I asked, I bet they'd try!!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness feel outside and rooms, great employees and owners
  • Disliked — I had no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We were definitly overcharged for the double queen room with continental breakfast. We paid $190 for one night, and the room wasn't worth it. The owner was so friendly and helpful, but the rooms were old. The beds didn't have comforters. The parking lot is a huge challenge for someone with a minivan. The breakfast in the lobby is ok, but you need to take it to your room to eat. Walking distance to the boardwalk but the area is not exactly picturesque.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I couldnt remember if I used Orbitz or Expedia...but paid about $90 for 2 Qn Beds...Loved the woman in the office...so nice! Our room was upstairs over the pool. Room was clean, bathrm too. Everything worked..so we were happy. My two girls used the pool and loved it...as they had it to themselves. The pool area was kept up and pool was clean. The ONLY downside to this motel was walking at night --from the boardwalk back to this location. A lot of transiants along the way. Some roawdy...one asleep (passed out) on a corner...scary for a mom and two teens. It wasnt late at night--just about 9:30pm...but wouldnt walk it again at night. Be back at the room by dusk!--until the city fixes the problem. But the room and owners were nice--worth the money. This review is for the Riverside Drive Location...oh wait there are two on Riverside. (if standing on Riverside Dr. facing the boardwalk--its the one on the left of the street) Good Luck!

  • Liked — Keeping in mind--this is a beach town...the rooms are kept up...owners are nice. Location is close. (about 3 blocks)
  • Disliked — It would be wise to be back to your room after dark--property location is safe--wouldnt recommend being out walking after dark.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunloverFrmFarmland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East

Property: Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super 8
Santa Cruz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing