We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was a bargain even thought I walked in without reservation. Very friendly and fast staff, clean if worn rooms with nice beds with duvets (unexpected for this class of place), good coffee makers, weak breakfast, noisy air conditioning.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerimiahJ223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 525 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
Ventura
104
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in the owner was very friendly, helpful an cheerful when booking in. Room was clean, well set out and nice to have mugs for coffee!
Breakfast was well organised with the same cheery lady there to help. This was probably our most cheap overnight stay but was definitely one of the best. Thank you Super 8 Santa Cruz :)

Room Tip: It is on a busy street, but run the air conditioning and then you never notice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oreocookiemonster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The carpet was FILTHY my feet were black after walking on the carpet post shower.

Bed was saggy well worn mattress and only two super flat pillows
Yeah it was only $80 but I still expect the carpets to have been vacuumed better and shampooed at least once this decade.

There was hair on the 'clean' towels as well. Sketchy.

We will not be staying there ever again for future trips and are less likely to try a Super 8 in gerneral in the future after this gross experience.

I have stayed in grungy beach hotels before in Florida and elsewhere along the gulf and Atlantic coast. This was the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Praf and Suni Patel are exceptionally kind and attentive hosts who run a hotel that fully deserves its 8.2 rating.
The rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfasts filling and of good quality.
I felt the owners really went out of their way to provide a personal touch which made us feel really welcome, providing information and advice, as well as helping with our online check-in.
This would be our number 1 choice of hotel if ever we return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Tushar C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $95 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing