We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-friendly Super 8!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Despite driving a mini-motorhome, whenever traveling the California coast we stop at this wonderful motel for a non-cramped shower and a good sleep in a "real" bed. By now, the super-friendly family that manages this Super 8, recognizes us when we return. Unfailingly, we're greeted with big smiles and a hug! And as other reviewers have noted, these warm, service-oriented folks go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Although this is obviously an older motel, it is well kept, modernized and clean----all at a very reasonable price per night. Their beds are so comfortable that a couple years ago I inquired about the brand name and model of mattress. They commented that customers often ask that question, and then enthusiastically shared all the needed information with us. Now we sleep on that kind of bed in our home! Offering a swimming pool, along with being situated mere blocks from the beach/boardwalk and restaurants, you can't go wrong with this place. And unlike most motel lobbies, even the free coffee is great tasting!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 534 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

For the price, this is a good place to stay. The rooms are large, clean, and include a microwave and mini fridge. The location is within an easy walk to the boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local attractions and maps. Standard continental breakfast. Free wifi that worked well.

The main con to this hotel is the noise. The walls seem to be pretty thin, I could neighboring conversations and they didn't seem to be yelling. The traffic outside was loud with a lot of car horns honking. Another con is that the parking spaces are small.

I'd stay here again, but I'll bring earplugs next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapchick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked two nights in advance at this wonderful Motel during our trip along the westcoast. When we arrived late the manager was very kind and took some time to ask for our wishes about the room. Even though during the online booking process a room with kingbed was not available, he offered us one now and with my wish for a downstairs room he ended up giving us a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi Suite. It was a wonderful room, very clean, quiet and with a nice decor, but the BEST thing was the huge Jacuzzi right next to the bed - we loved it!
Breakfast was ok and similar to the ones in other Motels, the parking lot was also ok for the size of the motel and it was in walking distance to the Boardwalk and Beach. But what stood out to us the most was how friendly the manager and his wife (I guess, it was his wife?!) were during our stay. It was a pleasure to stay in this Motel and if we will ever return to Santa Cruz, we will surely return to this Super 8!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wompipompi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Due to an hours-late airline arrival we didn't get to the motel until the wee hours of Christmas night, but the friendly owner was very understanding and made sure we got our room right away. Two days later at 4 A.M., when American Airlines finally delivered the luggage they had lost during our flight, these fine people were there to receive it for us and hold it until we awoke. It is these folks that make this motel deserve the high rating I give it. Their care of the room and grounds shines through as much as does their genuine concern for their guests. They are Super-hosts, in our opinion!
Ron&Arlene

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank DEBORAH E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Big clean rooms, decent wifi and good clean bathroom. Me and my girlfriend both liked the place and would stay in it again. Close to the beach and the main street down town. It other Super 8's I stayed in, it was of the highest quality for a motel. Staff where friendly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Centre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our road trip and we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived late but the owner was very friendly and checked us in quickly, she also offered advice for the area. The room was clean and huge and comfy. The breakfast was simple but tasty and plenty filling enough to start our day. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklegems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $80 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super 8
Santa Cruz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing