We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have never stayed in a Super 8 before but were inspired to do so after reading the reviews of this location on tripadvisor. The motel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the reception area but can be eaten at tables on an outdoor terrace which even in December was vey pleasant. Great for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 524 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

We go to Santa Cruz fairly frequently and I've always been frustrated by the lack of good hotel options. I was admittedly resistant to staying in a Super 8, but the positive reviews on this site convinced me to give it a try. I was not disappointed. Yes, the property is a motel with exterior corridors, but so are most of the lodging options in town. At the Super 8 there are nicely appointed, good-sized rooms, comfortable beds, free reliable wi-fi, a small pool for the kids and (most important for us) easy walking distance to the Boardwalk. The breakfast is just ok, but there's lots of fresh coffee and it's pleasant to eat on the 2nd floor patio, which was right outside our room. The staff is kind and helpful and the price is definitely right. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileeninseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night mid-October on the basis of all the excellent reviews. It didn't disappoint. Short walk to the boardwalk, large, clean rooms. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice and an excellent price.

Ok the outside is a bit off-putting and the carpark isn't large but we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

When we arrived I was a bit disapointed at the look of the motel, they ran off an external corridor so the security wasn't great (especially when their are kids hanging around the car park late at night) but the rooms were so modern and spacious and comfortable and the staff were super friendly. Santa Cruz itself was pretty quiet when we were there (almost deserted in the afternoon) The area of the motel wasn't great so we decided to drive to the beach front for dinner instead of walk. The breakfast was a bit average but in all an ok experience

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huggles_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels over the course of a long airline career and was surprisingly pleased to find this Super 8 located near the beach located near the beach and boardwalk in Santa Cruz. The staff and owners, Praf and Suni Patel, were exceptionally kind and helpful. The room had everything I needed for a short stay. A comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, iPod Station, wifi, flat screen TV, coffee maker and light breakfast as well! All for a reasonable price! I will definitely stay there on my next visit to Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meb985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of Pacific Coast Highway trip. It was a nice, spacious clean room. The bathroom and communal areas were a bit dated. The staff were very helpful.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Ward_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in August and it was our first experience of Super 8 motels throughout the country. After trying several properties during our journey, I have to say this was probably one of the best motels. As most Super 8, the property is quite small, we arrived late and were assigned a room on the ground floor in front of the pool. Despite being on the road side, we didn't experience any noise whatsoever. Santa Cruz is a very small place and very quiet at night, so noise is not an issue. The room was quite modern compared to other we saw later on, it had a nice comfy bed, clean sheets, a big flat screen tv and enough space to move around. The bathroom was dated compared to the room, but not a problem after all. Breakfast in the morning is basic but enough to get you started: you just go to the reception office where in the morning they set up coffee/juices machines, toaster, choice of white/wheat bread, selection of jams and butter, cereals, packaged snacks etc. Fill your tray and bring it to your room (no space in the reception office). The hotel is just a short walk to the Boardwalk, the pier and the beach. The couple who manages the property is very friendly and welcoming. I'm an industry professional working with deluxe hotels, but I found this Super 8 motel a pleasant surprise! Important: the hotel sits right opposite another Super 8 motel across the road. Make sure you check the address number to avoid going to the wrong property, this is the 338!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kiarak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $95 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super 8
Santa Cruz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing