We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good movies, good popcorn and relaxed local gem”

Nickelodeon Theatre
Ranked #16 of 83 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good movies, good popcorn and relaxed local gem”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Nickelodeon's three theaters preserve and deliver great movies and top of the line treats to accompany. Not many places you can have real butter on your organic popcorn along with a local bakery brownie and a cup of amazing chai!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelnMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still the smartest, most rewarding programming in town”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Nick is and has always been about quality programming and the best possible film-viewing experience to appeal to the unique tastes of a deeply progressive community.

At a recent show, a person in front of me turned around and said she couldn't hear the movie because I was... wait for it... eating popcorn! I thought this was perfectly ridiculous and thoroughly Santa Cruz, and when I happened to see Jim and Paul, the Nick's owners, in the lobby afterwards, I told them about this, thinking they'd get as much of a laugh as I did.

Well, the yolk's on me. Jim said, in all seriousness and concern, that they had been getting complaints about loud popcorn lately. Only, it wasn't the popcorn, it was the new environmentally-conscious recycled paper bags they had begun using to replace the former non-recyclable waxed cardboard cups. They crinkle noisily.

I then saw the woman who complained to me and called her over to us to tell her she was right. She was understandably a little unsure of my intentions, but things loosened up when Jim introduced himself and assured her he is working on a solution. Ah, Santa Cruz!

Oh, by the way, the movies there are really great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,091 reviews
425 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Classic decor”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Classic decor and old school seats. Not as comfortable as a modern theater but worth seeing a film here for decor alone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small quaint theatre”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just a small theater in a good location. But nothing too special. Part of a small chain in Santa Cruz.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank candyo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Blessed relief from multi-plex movie theaters”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I think of "the Nick" as my home away from home and thank my lucky stars this venue exists. Recent renovations have made it even nicer. Good snacks too! Several of the theaters are so intimate it feels like a private viewing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank judiriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickelodeon Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Nickelodeon Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing