We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet, family run.”
Review of Salt Air Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salt Air Lodge
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed July 13, 2007

I loved this place. I loved that it seems to be family owned and the employees are allowed to be human. I guess this is coming from someone who works with the public ;-) They do the best they can with the hotel while giving you great value. Of course the location is everything, very close to the boardwalk yet also a short walk to a wonderful downtown area. I didn't have a problem with noise at all--in my opinion it's not the managements problem if there are some extremely rude people causing problems. Like I said it's family run and not worth anyone getting hurt. I dunno-- I always travel with a noise machine-- seems to make sense. The beds were very comfortable and the shower/bath excellent, and all was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

We went to Santa Cruz to spend spring break and visit out son. We decided to stay at the Knights Inn because it was cheap and had a refrigerator and microwave and a good price. That was definitely a mistake. The room was ok, but the noise was unbearable, every night. We complained to the manager, but he said that he had to get some sleep so would not answer the phone after he had told us that is what we should do if it got noisy. We left before the week was over and stayed somewhere else because of all the noise, every night. We were tired, instead of rested, at the end of our vacation. Do not go to his motel, pay a little more and have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

The rooms are very old. Smell of mildew. The beds springs are sagging and by the morning you wake up with a back ache. No wifi. Every peice of furniture in the rooms has large stains including the bed spreads. Avoid this place if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

When we arrived at the Knight's Inn the outside of the motel seemed decent enough, but our opinions changed as soon as we opened the door. The room felt like a big white box, with a mattress in the middle, a very old fridge, TV and a boarded over door (in the room!) The bathroom was smelly and had no counter space to put anything, the towels were threadbare and the water pressure was non-existant. When we pulled off the comforter the sheets were not clean!!!!! At night you could hear the wind and people through the window as if it was open.

I would never recommend this motel to anyone, even if you are on a tight budget. Go camping instead!

4  Thank trigaltotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We got a "suite" for $65/night and, although the room was small, it was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and we had a lot of privacy because our room was facing the street, so we didn't hear any of the pool parties other reviewers mentioned. I would highly recommend this place if you're looking for a cheap, little hotel in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gummybear1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

I could look past the dilapidated condition of our room, but the party in the parking lot kept us up past 3am. Apparently the management didn't care enough to do something about it. We had also booked a queen size bed, but none were available, so we were stuck with a full. Even though we paid in advance for two nights, we packed up and left after just one. Avoid this place at all cost!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Riparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Good location, but hard to find. Friendly staff talked me in and I was happy with a clean room at a low price. The bathrooms could use rennovation, but this is a beach motel. Clean is probably paramount and the room was clean. The phones need to be labeled with contact #s for the front desk and the local police. Why the police? Because from midnight to 2 a.m. rude guests from one and two rooms down were outside their rooms smoking, making loud noise, disturbing the peace. This type of disturbance would not be allowed in a hotel. The next day the motel staff acknowledged the noise and apologized, "sorry bro", but didn't do anything the night before even though they were aware of it. No shampo, no problem, but the noise at night, while probably not a problem every night, left me not likely to return. Far from a resort, more like a last resort."

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tommy_Baca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#29 of 54 in Santa Cruz
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Air Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Air Lodge

Address: 510 Leibrandt Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5016 (Formerly Knights Inn Santa Cruz Beach/ Boardwalk)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $59 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salt Air Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salt Air Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing