We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Salt Air Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Air Lodge
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Friant, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had rolled into town on a motorcycle trip we arrived early and didn't expect to be able to check in but the manager was very accommodating and was able to expedite our check in and gave us a secure place to park our bikes. they even upgraded our room . great location just a short walk to the boardwalk and pier. yet far enough away that it was quiet and got great rest there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsnively68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Salt Air Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanking you for your kind patronage. We appreciate staying with us. We are happy for your good experience at our Motel. We thrive to give a great service to all our guests. We look forward to see you again in the near future. Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    26
    14
    51
See reviews for
37
39
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stay away! I was double charged by the owner/operator and I have filed a complaint with the credit bureau and with the credit card company. The owner is nasty and argued with me about the incorrect billing. The breakfast was a box of donuts and coffee (and the coffee had run out)--just all around poor. Absolutely the worst experience I ever had in any hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Salt Air Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi My name is Dilip Patel and I am the owner and you did not speak to me as I dont recall any of what yo are saying and I am not rude or dishonnest about charging you double.That just does not add up.If you have a concern please call me personally at 8315888450 on my mobile and I will personally handle your issue.Your complaint is about our breakfast which doughnuts, tea, coffee and juices and our rooms. Please clarify that the problem is not with the cleanliness of the rooms but managerial issues.About your double charge, [lease let me know and we will make the neccessary adjustments for your refunds.we still have not been contacted by the bussiness beareau you are talking about. Please follow up on this and give me a call. I am sorry you did not have a good experience but in any case thanks for the patronafe to our hotel and our santa cruz city as a whole. PLaese give us some consideration as we try to make it right.
Thanking you in advance,
Dilip Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Manteca, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room is not bad at all I thought it would be crusty but it's actually better than I expected two queen beds and one rollaway bed to accommodate 5 of us. A very short walk to the board walk and restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Salt Air Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and look forward to see you again in the near future. For a 1.5 star property, we try hard to have a clean and comfortable property at a reasonable price and an execelent location from the beach and downtown. Next year our intention is to have all rooms with 2 and 3 beds only for families. Our light continental breakfast includes sport juice, coffee and doughnuts. thanks again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great location, an easy walk to the boardwalk, pier and beach. The outside of the motel needs a good clean and make over. Staff were friendly and polite and the shower was good. Breakfast was not worth having. The clock radio was broken.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Salt Air Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we apologize for the broken clock, but was replaced before you returned from the beach when our housekeeping cleaned your room.We are mandated for a light continental breakfast consisting of juice, coffee and doughnuts according to our franchise agreements.We do again thank you for patronage and strive to keep giving our guests a good santa cruz experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Really bad experience, dirty rooms, wifi connection not available because rooter was broken, breakfast supposed to be in corner where you can only stand and you can have only coffee and, maybe, one donuts. There are a few parking stalls and if you are not resident you have to park n the road after 9PM. Voucher to park were over. Experience to forget. Price for all this, crazy high, more than 100 USD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Salt Air Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
we apologize for the inconvinient stay, but our rooms are clean and comfortable and not dirty as you state.All our reviews never mention dirty rooms because they are not.You may not know what a dirty room looks like.May be look around the sarrounding motel rooms and then you can compare our property. Our breakfast is mandated by our franchise to provide juice, coffee and doughnuts. Well better than nothing as you get in Italy. Our beach area has very strict parking situation and we still provide free parking and not charge for it. but dont get used to it as next time you come to santa crua you will be paying mandatorily for parking just like san fransisco. in any case thanks for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location and price. The room was old and one of the beds was terrible. The towels were thin and the soap was so small that it disolved by the end of the night. There was no clock radio and the remote for the TV was broken. When we told the management about the lack of a clock radio his reply was that they did not keep clock radios in the rooms. The microwave was loud and squeaked and their was a large wet spot in front of the refrigerator. They advertised a continential breakfast but what served was stale donuts, koolaid and weak coffee. The good part about the hotel was the pool which was heated and refreshing after a day at the boardwalk. It seemed like the management was a little too focused on cutting cost which was too bad because with a little effort this could be a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tami_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our room it was pretty large. The bathroom was huge. We had a room with 2 double beds the 2nd one was in separate alcove. The location was perfect for walking to the beach and boardwalk. I felt we had a great deal. I only have 1 complaint. 1st there was some sort of issue with another cusomer and at 10:30 at night they were moved to the room above us. They were takling very loud outside and then when they got in the upstairs room the floor was very squeeky. We turned on the AC to drown out the noise. Thankfully they went right to sleep. The "free" continential breakfast was coffee and Donuts the kids liked the donuts.

Room Tip: May want a top floor to avoid a noisy ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank werejustatravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Air Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Air Lodge

Property: Salt Air Lodge
Address: 510 Leibrandt Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5016 (Formerly Knights Inn Santa Cruz Beach/ Boardwalk)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salt Air Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salt Air Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing