We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel - good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nicest Hotel - good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

This hotel was one of our first stops on our coastal CA driving vacation (San Fran - San Diego). It was great for our purposes - nice, clean, good breakfast and nice staff. It is a good location to start your trek to Big Sur Hwy if you are doing that kind of vacation. Definitely one of the best 3star-ish hotels we have stayed inn!

The boardwalk is only a mile or so away.

The only concerning thing was the signs in the hotel back parking lot that said they were not responsible for damage to your car (or something to that effect)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank williamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    229
    90
    51
    24
See reviews for
264
177
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VALLEJO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

Rooms were nice, clean and well appointed. Very quiet with a good location. Pool was small, but nice and warm. Concierge were all very polite and helpful. The breakfast was good too. Only drawback was too much chlorine in the pool, and no microwave or fridge in the room. VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY.

  • Liked — The quietness and cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — Too much chlorine in the pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VallejoMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

This is a pleasant place to spend the night. Reception staff very nice and breakfast more than adequate. This property's rooms seem to be a bit smaller than most Hampton Inn's, but the location more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco - Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

We were looking for a "nice" place to stay when we took our two little boys to the Beach Boardwalk. The Hampton Inn was just perfect! We made reservations the night before (mid-week) and arrived to find a warm and welcoming staff - very clean lobby, and pool area (indoor pool) and very clean room. Although we thought we wanted to be at a hotel that was in walking distance to the boardwalk - I was very pleased with our choice - as it was just a 5 min. drive - and from the looks of some of the others we passed along the way - I didn't mind the drive at all.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UTripy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Our stay was very pleasant. Staff was helpful, breakfast was fine, the room was very clean and comfortable and quiet. Everything was better than anticipated for the price.

  • Liked — The value and overall cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Our room was above the indoor pool and had some noise from the echo there.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Junioretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

At first we didn't know what to expect, but overall, we were very happy with our accommodations. The hotel is right of HWY 17 and just a few minutes away from the boardwalk. The staff was very helpful and our room was very clean. We loved the beds & pillows. They also served a complimentary breakfast, but the food is not that great. Instead I just had a cup of hot tea. Overall our room & stay was comfortable, but I have to say, it was expensive. For one night (Saturday), our total cost was $207.00 - and that's with a AAA discount.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank makoligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

We took our granddaughter to orientation at UCSC and booked the Hampton Inn the night before. The front desk was extremely helpful and the hotel room was clean and comfortable. We were lucky to get a king bedded room with a sofa bed, which was large enough for the 3 of us. There is no central heat or air, only a floor unit, which worked well. The complimentary breakfast next morning was more than adequate. There was free parking on the premises. We ate dinner at "Ristorante Italiano, #5 on tripadvisor... which was very good and not expensive. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — It was clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — No central a/c or heat
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing