We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed January 22, 2007

I was nicely surprised by my stay here. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is a Hampton Inn standard, cereals and hot food options, that are fine for a free breakfast. The hotel staff is incredibly nice and helpful, printing directions and making local dining recommendations. There is a pool but no workout facility which is the only negative thing I can say about the place.

  • Liked — Great beds
  • Disliked — No workout facility
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BluemoonSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    235
    94
    56
    30
See reviews for
282
180
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

This was one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. The staff was so friendly, gave us great directions to everywhere we needed to go, they printed out maps, took the time to go over the directions with us and were extremely nice.

I was very impressed with the rooms, everything was clean, and the hotel parking was also excellent. The inside of the hotel is very nice, and they include a HOT breakfast as well as coffee 24 hrs a day. All the rooms face the INSIDE of the hotel so you don't ever have to go outside for anything which is great when its FREEZING outside. Also, I had to call the front desk for the wireless internet code and they were extremely friendly and in a world of ever decreasing customer service the Hampton hotel was a nice break.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank grlkandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

A nice new Hampton Inn. Pleasent people, clean room, overall very nice. Only negative was that the breakfast buffet (free) was out of lots of food by 9 am. Hardly the end of the world.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRWINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

My husband and I only spent 1 night at this hotel on our way down Highway 1. The check-in process was smooth and the staff were friendly. The room was large (we had 2 double beds in our room) and the beds were comfortable and had a choice of pillows.

The breakfast the next morning had a huge variety of options, hot and cold and all self service so was very relaxed. We paid $115 for the night so felt it was good value for money.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iloveholidaylots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

This is a great hotel for Santa Cruz CA where the majority of the lodgings are subpar. The beds are great and the rooms are nice and large. The negatives are that there was no work desk, the bathroom door had to be held open with a door stopper, and the front desk folks are not very friendly. The hot breakfast is terrible. Breakfast is served until 10 but when we got there at 9 on both days the hot items were gone and we had to ask for the items to be replenished. It seems that no one watches over the food. The coffee containers also takes a long time to be refilled.
We travel to Santa Cruz often to visit family and we will stay here again due to the lack of other options.

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldwingGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

I came to this site to write a not-so-good review of this hotel. I see that all before me really liked this hotel. I checked out after the first night. For work, I stay at Hampton Inns a lot., nearly every week. While this hotel was the worst Hampton Inn I've stayed at, I do agree it is not that bad overall.

It was only little things that annoyed me, nothing significant. I disliked that there was no desk to work on in the room, in fact the furniture was incredibly sparse. The bathroom door needed to be held open with a door jam. It was annoying to have to keep lifting it up and down constantly. In the lobby they had no hot water for tea, nor any hot coffee after noon - unlike every other Hampton Inn I've stayed at - and unlike any other hotel anywhere on the planet with a coffee/tea bar in the lobby. They placed people's checkout bills in front of their doors (for anyone to pickup and look at) and not under their doors. I had to experience a loud group in the back parking lot around 2 AM and a child playing in the hallway until 11 PM. These of course are probably one-time events.

On a good note, I found the staff to be nice and friendly and the rooms were clean.

I certainly would not tell you not to go here, as it was okay, and there are not a whole lot of options in Santa Cruz that are "nice", but it was indeed just that, okay.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank StuGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This place was as nice as everybody says it was. It was spacious. It had free internet. Beds were comfy. There was no noise issue. Location is crummy, the first in a long line of motels, but it is convenient to Route 1.

I don't think I'll be stopping in Santa Cruz any time soon, but if I did, this would be where I would stop. For breakfast, try the nearby Santa Cruz diner for superb waffles with strawberries and blueberry pancakes.

  • Liked — Nice room, clean bathroom, free internet, price.
  • Disliked — Dreary location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing