We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

My daughter and I were on a college roadtrip and stayed here overnight. The hotel was in a convenient location off the freeway and didn't have people loitering around the outside of the hotel. I felt very safe. The clerk was friendly and even called the room later to make sure everything was satisfactory. The carpets were clean, the room smelled fresh and the bedding was laundered. The bathroom was large and practically sparkled. There was coffee and tea downstairs at all hours, and a nice breakfast was served for several hours in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised at the caliber of this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger23136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    229
    90
    51
    24
See reviews for
264
177
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Not the fanciest but for the price, the best value in Santa Cruz. Most hotels under 200/night are 2 star motels with exterior entrances. This property is one of the few with doors to your room that's inside a lobby setting, nice to have in a town frequented by the homeless. The rooms are new and clean with a fold out sofa and large bathroom with tub. Breakfast is included but "hot" does not mean embassy suites type of buffets, there's just 1 item like french toast and the usual cereal, oatmeal, coffee and muffin bar. The swimming pool is heated to more of a hot tub temperature and is about just as small as a hot tub. Until there's another hotel with intereior corridorrs of the same price, I'd stay here for the safety and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraimcfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

I stayed at this property for two nights as part of a wedding group block. It was a new, clean, well maintained property. The parking and internet were free as was the breakfast which were all nice. The staff were friendly and attentive, the bed was not top quality nor were the amenities but neither was the price. Another nice quality was the tv selection; many, many channels and it doesn’t reset to that awful ad-laced menu channel that nearly all hotel tv’s do when you shut them off. I would recommend visiting the Santa Cruz Diner a couple of blocks away as well as the Cromwell state park, a truly beautiful part of this country.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is a good example of the new Hampton Inns. Everything was clean and new. The front desk was friendly, and the hotel was centrally located. This is a safe bet for a clean, predictable stay in Santa Cruz. We paid $103 with AAA, which was just right. Our only issue was that the breakfast items were not promptly restocked while we were sitting there, but this was minor. It had a nice interior courtyard layout as well.

  • Liked — Clean and new
  • Disliked — Breakfast items not promptly restocked
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

Considering the prices in Santa Cruz for dumpy hotels, this was probably the nicest and most affordable we could have stayed in.
It had a nice comfortable bed and pillows. Looked and smelled clean. The downside of the hotel was that our room was located across from a loud ice maker and maids storage room. Also we did not like that there were no laundry facilities on the property. The breakfast looked ok, however we didn't eat. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is pretty far from the Boardwalk, however, we didn't mind driving. We had no problem finding parking when we got back to the room around midnight. The signs in the paring lot do say "owner assumes all risk" but we didn't find the area to be dangerous or sketchy. I felf very comfortable with parking our rental in their parking lot.

  • Liked — Beds, location, shower, clean
  • Disliked — LOUD ICE MAKER! Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

That place was amazing. Great hotel, very clean, delicious breakfast. We slept in the most comfortable bed ever !!! Close to all the great attractions.
It was a great experience. Excellent choice !!!!

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniela_Christenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Really fail to understand the negative reviews of this small Hampton Inn (40 + rooms). We stayed for two nights and were very impressed both by the quality of service and the room rate. We booked directly through the Hampton Inn web site. Yes, there are rooms whose windows are obstructed by the roof of the entrance canopy which does look like a bit of an architectural after thought. However, our request for a different room was immediately accommodated and we moved to the rear of the property overlooking the car park. This side of the hotel in very quiet with no traffic noise whatsoever. We had twin queen size beds in a large room with a very well appointed bathroom. Every thing was exceptionally clean and the towels etc were of superior quality. The breakfast was more than adequate and there were plentiful supplies of coffee, tea and fruit juices available all day in the lobby. The pool is small but during our stay we saw no one using it. We could have had it to ourselves. The internet is free and there is a computer and printer in the lobby for the use of guests. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The hotel is 5 minutes by car to the beach and convenient for access to the University.

We have used Hampton Inns on many occasions in the past and would rate this as one of the best we have stayed in.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SandDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing