We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Place in Expensive Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Place in Expensive Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were only staying one night in the area for Whale Watch tour in Moss Landing next day. Room was fresh and clean, smelled clean and decent breakfast for the kids in the morning. Would stay again and recommend it to others looking for clean and don't care to be on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our property! I'm happy to read that our clean rooms and breakfast worked so well for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    212
    83
    44
    21
See reviews for
241
162
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We are used to Hampton Inn accommodations. Technically, this had the expected characteristics. When we arrived at 3 PM, only two rooms were left. The hotel was fully booked for the night. The clerk was deviously vague in his description. We ended up in 203, right over the elevator equipment. But Ocean Street is a really busy thoroughfare and the alternative room would have likely been worse. They moved us to 303 the next night and we were awakened by the garbage truck at 6AM and the recycle truck at 7AM. We are staying somewhere else in this overpriced town if we return (maybe Capitola). You should do likewise.

Room Tip: There are no quiet areas and the open atrium spreads food odors to all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OtisGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I'm so sorry that you had a disappointing stay while at our property. While our hotel is typically quite quiet, it's true that trash pickup in our neighborhood can be heard in the morning one day a week, and I apologize if it affected your sleep. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a better stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

For the first time in all of the past Hampton Inn's we have stayed at over the years, this was our first disappointed stay. Priced at $278 for an average appointed room, no complimentaries normal given, a staff that was less than cordial or helpful. If you book through Expedia, don't expect a room change if you are stuck across from the food court and wish to move. This is not mentioned at time of booking. Cameras in parking lot due apparently to a vehicle burglary problem as signs indicate an apparent bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our rates and your room type. I have looked into your reservation, and I would like to inform you for your future reference that the fact that your room was booked through Expedia was not the reason we could not change your room, but that you had booked a specific handicap accessible room type which was located on the first floor. As we were sold out at the time of your arrival, we were unable to change your room type.

We have installed cameras on the outside of our property for added security in consideration on our guests. We do not have a theft problem as you suggest, but we do take the safety and security of our guests and their possessions very seriously. Finally, it's true that rates in Santa Cruz are somewhat high during the weekends in the summer, as we are located in a very high-demand area. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us in the future, ideally during the winter when rates are lower overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed in room 106 in between the pool and the breakfast area. It was loud at night and in the early morning hours. At 830am on a Thursday morning there was nowhere to sit the breakfast room was so packed and loud with families and kids screaming. The beach is 2 miles down the street (Ocean St). There is a boardwalk with an amusement park and a small stretch of beach that is packed to the gills with people. There is a Denny’s next door that is open 24 hours, but I would recommend driving the 1 mile down Ocean St to get to the Santa Cruz Diner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storm0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you experienced issues with noise and crowded beaches. The week you stayed with us was a very busy week in Santa Cruz, as the Breaker's Cup Soccer Tournament was holding its championship games in our city, which had our property (and apparently our whole city!) at capacity. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again so that we can provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

From beginning to ending the staff, the room, and the service along with a nice breakfast made the stay most pleasant. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the smiles and helpful service at the desk, our entire party had a very nice experience. Everyone loved the quality and variety of the breakfast. I would stay there again over any other place in Santa Cruz. The location was perfect, just at the bottom of the main highway into town with easy access to major roads, eateries, and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff left such a lasting impression! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel was very nice. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. Spent a couple of days sightseeing while my daughter visited college friends. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and free internet. Close to highway 1. Take it north to Half Moon Bay and walk around the city. Very nice day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and that your room, staff, and breakfast worked so well for you. It's true that being located on Highway 1, Santa Cruz is a great city to visit the coastal towns to our north from. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel was great. Typical Hampton, nice room, good breakfast. Neighborhood however is a definite negative. Very sketchy. Also, it is too far away from touristy spots. It is right off of 101 so if you just need palace to sleep, it would be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylynnduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and that your room and our hot breakfast were to your liking. It's true that we are not adjacent to any tourist attractions, but you are able to locate the beach, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, and the University of California, Santa Cruz all approximately two miles from our hotel. We are also located nearby Highway 1 and Highway 17 (and Highway 101 is relatively close, being only half an hour away). I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing