We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Bay Area, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel was VERY clean, comfortable, quiet, and we really enjoyed the extensive selection of breakfast items at the complimentary breakfast. The staff was also super friendly and welcoming. We would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is really wonderful, and I appreciate you taking the time to mention them. I'm also happy that you found our property to your liking, and that our cleanliness and breakfast worked so well for you. Thanks for taking the time to give us this great review, and I hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    232
    91
    55
    28
See reviews for
276
178
31
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

BEST breakfast we have EVER had at a Hampton Inn! Along with the friendly staff our stay was definitely top Notch:-) Parking was a little tight, but doable. Will most definitely stay here again.
Our room was very clean and quiet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent_RoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff and breakfast to your liking! We recently upgraded our breakfast to have a much larger variety, and higher quality, healthier ingredients. We look forward to having you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really enjoyed staying here!
Great staff, comfortable room, enjoyable!
No complaints from me here!
Next time I'm in town I will know where I will be staying!
I agree with other reviews, watch the days you are there for parking!
Thanks for a great stay here! Your staff is awesome!!!
I always enjoy a nice hotel with good staff and you did that for me!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for the really great review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff and property to your liking! I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in transit to LA, we used our HHonors points to pay so it was in effect a 'free' night.

The hotel was easy to find off highway 1, however it's about 2 miles from the seafront of Santa Cruz. There is no restaurant in the Hotel for dinner, it is next door to a Denny's though.

The room was clean and comfortable, functional but not luxurious which is what I expected.

The hotel sits on a major intersection so we did get traffic noise, it subsided later in the evening though.

The air conditioning was unusable at night as it was so noisy and we are light sleepers, you can switch it off though.

Breakfast was buffet style, plenty of it and ok quality.

Santa Cruz itself was dead, even on a Friday night, the boardwalk was closed in the evening, early May must be out of season. We ate at the Thai restaurant on the beach front which was good value.

Overall SC just seemed a little low rent, we probably need to go in main season, if you really must stay in SC then probably best to stay near the front, however if you are just stopping off then the Hampton is fine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I'm glad that our property met your expectations. It's true that before peak season, there's not a lot of nightlife in Santa Cruz, but there are some great spots to try. Concerts at the Catalyst and our various lounges like Pono or the Blue Lagoon are usually good spots to check out. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again, especially during the summer months so you can see Santa Cruz in full-swing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Level Contributor
220 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed one night last week at this property - and have some mixed feelings about it. The room was clean and comfortable enough - as most Hampton's are in my experience. However, it is just off a very busy highway and there was quite a bit of road noise. Also some very noisy guests congregated outside. I was beginning to think we were going to be in for a long, sleepless night... but about 10:30 p.m., things settled down. We ended up getting a decent night's sleep. My husband tried their breakfast the next morning, but wished he hadn't... Think we'll look elsewhere next time. (Note: we were very tired and tried to find a place that delivered pizza... don't bother with Pizza My Heart -- unless you like greasy Chuck-E-Cheese type pizza).

Room Tip: ask for one farthest away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you experienced some noise while at our property (next time please inform the front desk of any issues with noise so that we can assist you), and that your husband didn't enjoy his breakfast. Our breakfast is typically popular with our guests, and I'm sorry that he was disappointed. I hope that we get the opportunity to provide you with a better breakfast experience the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed the entire stay. Hotel is inviting, well kept with very friend staff from the front desk to room service. Highly recommend but be warned on weekends parking is limited. It is Santa Cruz and over the weekends the population about doubles!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Especially during the weekend, Santa Cruz's population does boom! It can get pretty crazy during the summer months especially, which is why it's always a good idea to book your hotel room early and give plenty of time to find parking for any events! I'm glad that you enjoyed our property and our staff, and I hope that we get to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here a couple of times to visit UCSC. It is in a great location, easy access to freeway. Clean, quiet and free hot breakfast. Room is large and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Saladbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at our property while visiting UCSC. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast, which is of course complimentary and offers new healthy options! We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing