We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Santa Cruz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Sonoma, United States
1 review
“Great stay in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Top of the line Hampton Inn. Friendly and interested Front Desk Staff. Great open atrium layout. Right on the entrance to Santa Cruz from 17. Pleanty of breakfast items restocked frequently. Nice new LCD TV.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were fond our staff and location, and that you were able to take advantage of our daily hot breakfast. Our atrium and open layout really does set us apart from many other Hampton Inn properties, and I'm happy that you liked it -- it's actually the custom design of the owner. My favorite part of it is that it lets in so much natural light, and keeps everything from feeling claustrophobic. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our property, and I hope that we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    236
    97
    57
    33
See reviews for
288
182
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is a good hotel ,clean rooms , good bathroom.The location is very accessible.

Since I was partly working over the week as it was Thanksgiving,I needed the necessary props to help with that.

They had such a good setup for working -very comfortable couch, pedestal lamp with Phone and tea platform and a board to keep your laptop.

For the budget I was paying which was around 100USD ,it was really good.

The staff especially Diane ,Sue and Jorge was very forthcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm glad that your room's layout and amenities provided you with a good space to get your work done, and that you found great value in our hotel during your stay. Our staff enjoyed having you here, and appreciated your company and conversation. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice, clean and quiet room, attentive staff. If there's a problem, it's the location - we encountered several homeless individuals, one of whom was confrontative, although not truly threatening. It's got to be tough when the business has done everything it can to be welcoming, but circumstances mostly outside their control can negatively affect the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I'm glad that you felt that we offered a good value for your dollars spent, and it's great that you enjoyed your room and your interactions with our fantastic staff. While it's true that Santa Cruz does have a noticeable homeless population throughout the city, we, along with the Santa Cruz City Police Department and the city as a whole, are working to address this issue, and to keep Santa Cruz a clean and welcoming place. Thanks again, and we hope that we can have you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a good value hotel in a convenient location. I did not see many homeless people in the area-perhaps it was too chilly? There is a Best Western, a Comfort Inn and a Holiday Inn Express across the street. The location is directly off the highway. The beach, boardwalk & wharf are about a 5 minute drive.

The staff were all very friendly. The room (304) is to the back and we did not hear any road noise. It is a standard Hampton room, very comfortable & clean. It's nice having the small fridge & microwave available.

I love that breakfast is included, wifi in the room is free, parking is free. Indoor pool was a nice surprise.

When I was researching, I didn't think it was worth the price difference to stay closer to the beach. Perhaps in summer when parking at the beach could be an issue. This time of year, it was not a problem to drive & park.

I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank San Diego is best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our in-room amenities and complimentary hot breakfast, wireless Internet, and parking all worked well for you. Thank you for your review, and I hope we can see you again the next time that you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I experienced an excellent, comfortable stay in this Hotel. The facility is very well maintained by a helpful and courteous management and staff. The Hotel comfortable price too! This is an expensive market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frederickr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and that both our facilities and staff were to your liking. I'm also happy that you felt our hotel offered a great value for your money. I hope that we can see you again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The parking is not secure and in a bad part of town. The room smelled horrible. My room faced the street and street light shined directly in room. I would not stay here again and would not recommend this room. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
While I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our staff, I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant stay at our property. I'm unsure what type of smell you're referencing, but a few people have been especially sensitive to our scented carpet cleaner. I'm apologize if this was an issue during your stay.

I would also like to apologize if you were made uncomfortable by Santa Cruz's homeless population, which is somewhat visible throughout the city. We, along with the city as a whole, have been working with the Santa Cruz Police Department to ensure that our city remains safe and secure, although I would like to stress that it is rare that visitors experience any problems related to the homeless. Again, I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience, but I hope that we have an opportunity to have you with us again in the future so that we can offer you a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was in town to review some research at UCSC and this was convenient. I flew into SFO and drove down to Santa Cruz.

In general I have always found a Hampton Inn to be a good value when I'm driving, and this time was no exception.

Clean rooms, good parking spots available if you arrive early enough.

Breakfast items were good and when I return to Santa Cruz this will be an approved location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBVPHASE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I'm glad that you were pleased with your stay at our property while visiting UCSC. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and we look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing