We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a typical Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not a typical Hampton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is not indicative of Hampton hotels. There is very little parking and the breakfast left a lot to be desired. It was overpriced for the quality that we received. It may be the best in the area but that is not saying much. If we are in the area again, we will choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not quite what you'd expected, but appreciate your feedback. Summer lodging rates throughout Santa Cruz are higher than during other times of the year; unfortunately this is a necessary part of keeping coastal hotels operating successfully. I hope that you enjoy your time in Santa Cruz on future visits, wherever you might decide to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    229
    90
    51
    24
See reviews for
264
177
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in a wonderful location in Santa Cruz, CA. It is new, the decor is lovely, and the room was roomy and clean. My husband and I were in CA on vacation and had checked out at another hotel(notHampton) and were so lucky to find this place. The food was good and there were no problems with anything the one nite we spent there. It is located a short drive from downtown and is located near restaurants. You will enjoy this place! Do not hesitate to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
And we were lucky that you found us, too! Thanks so much for being our guests and for your terrific review. We're so happy to hear that everything went well with your stay and look forward to having you back another time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a nice hotel, everything was very nice. Denny's right next door, and a short drive to the center of the town and beach. The only negative was the homeless population hanging in the front parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're very pleased to know that you found the hotel to meet your expectations. We hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was quite surprised with this hotel. It was very clean, the room was nice, the bathroom was very large and the staff was great. Relatively comfortable bed, I thought the mattress was a little hard. We only stayed here one night. There aren't many parking spots so that can be a bit of a challenge. It's right off the main highway so very easy to get to. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
A nice surprise is always a good thing! Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay at the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is convenient to downtown Santa Cruz and the rest of the Monterrey small towns (like Carmel). Parking is a big pain. Rooms are standard Hampton quality (average) in both size and cleanliness. Breakfast is also typical Hampton -- lousy except for the coffee. Just the kind of room and hotel where you minimize the amount of time spent there -- basically a good place to sleep but not much else.

Room Tip: Basically a pretty noisy location no matter what room you stay in -- avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Of course we're sorry that you didn't enjoy the hotel more, but are glad to hear that it fit your needs while you were in town. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Drove up from San Jose to escape the heat and enjoy a day in Santa Cruz. The hotel is a couple miles from the Beach but worthy of a stay. The hotel is clean, well managed, and they went out of their way to get us in our room for early check in about 12:30 on a very busy day. The free breakfast was decent. The pool was small and no Jacuzzi so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the place.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, ask for a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your summer getaway at the Hampton in Santa Cruz. Managing inventory in our sell-out summer season can be tricky, so I'm really glad to know that you were able to check in to your room early.

Thanks so much for your comments, we're delighted that you had such a great stay and hope you will be back again next time you need to get away from the heat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We encountered great staff at this Inn and the room was very clean; however, the room had a musky smell to it when we arrived and the cooling system was challenged in trying to keep the room cool with the high humidity and high temperatures outside. Until the complementary breakfast quality is improved, I would recommend eating breakfast at the Denny's restaurant next to the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, and thanks so much for the compliments to our staff. We really appreciate that. As to your other comments, thank you for your suggestions I will be sure to discuss them with our Housekeeping and Breakfast staff. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing