We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to regret switching from Marriott Rewards to Hilton Honors after 20 years of loyalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Granite Bay, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Starting to regret switching from Marriott Rewards to Hilton Honors after 20 years of loyalty”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Aweful. The hotel is in a bad location, homeless people everywhere walking in parking lot, not safe, staff was inflexible, only cared about $, did not care of Diamond status, just treated me like a $. I never checked in and they still charged me. The booking was a mistake, but they did not care, so I had to pay for a room at the Hilton to stay somewhere safe. I would be embarrassed if I were Hilton to have Hampton in the family of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
As our hotel is very small we do not overbook rooms, and on the night in question we were completely sold out. We held the room ready for this guest until he arrived at 10:30pm, stating that he had made a mistake and had intended to book at a different hotel.

Unfortunately by this time it was far beyond our 24-hour cancellation policy and it was much too late to re-sell the room. We offered the guest what we understood to be an acceptable resolution to the problem (which he accepted, again indicating that the matter had been resolved). We are very sorry to hear now that this guest is still dissatisfied.

We value and respect our Diamond members and try to accommodate their requests when possible, just as we try our best to make all of our guests happy. We are very sorry to hear when one is not. Our apologies for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    236
    97
    57
    33
See reviews for
288
182
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We come up at least twice a year to bring our student to UCSC and try out a new hotel each time. Most of the hotels we have stayed at are not very good but we don't have $250 plus a night to spend on a room The Hampton Inn was reasonably price but very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best we have found in our travels. We have finally found the hotel we will continue to come to. Thank you Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank YOU for this wonderful review! We so appreciate knowing that you were pleased with your room and breakfast, and are delighted that you will be staying with us again while visiting your daughter at UCSC. We look forward to seeing you again (hopefully regularly!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Reception was nice, but unable to resolve issues. Promised a manger contact next day. Was disregarded by manager. Resulting in an overcharge to my CC. Breakfast was "ok" but, actually had better at Hilton and Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Our apologies for any miscommunication/misunderstanding, we trust that the issue has been satisfactorily resolved now. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel with any other concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The bathroom was filthy the sink ran. The front desk person said she couldn't do anything because she was alone. She offered clean towels but refused to take the dirty ones from the previous guest. We decided to leave although they didn't refund us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ericka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
As your comments are in complete disagreement with our record of your stay, it is difficult to know how to respond to your review.

The desk clerk who was on duty that night remembers your stay specifically. She went up to your room more than once to check that everything was fine, and was told that it was. She has worked here for several years and is not only an exemplary employee but also dedicated to guest service. There is simply no way that she would have refused to take away a dirty towel or trash for you.

We allowed you to check into your room two hours early and were still checking in well into the evening hours. Our Executive Housekeeper noted that you in fact left your room after checkout time the following morning. If the room had been as sub-par as you indicate, it is surprising that you would have chosen to stay in it so long.

As a final point I would like to mention that the Government rate is reserved for those specifically traveling on Government business, not on vacation with several family members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK HILL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff a pleasure to deal with a short distance from the beach so no beach traffic to deal with. Great stop after the Santa Cruz Blues Fest if your in the area and want a good clean hotel at a fair price and are not needing a five star stay this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for such a great review! We really hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again next time you're in Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My son and I stayed one night at the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz. Very nice. Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. I always try to stay at Hampton Inn whenever I can as you can always expect a clean room, nicely furnished, great bed and WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank AuntCarol65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We really liked the staff here. Everyone at the front desk would always welcome us and were very friendly. They helped with any questions we had and went out of their way to help us. The rooms and beds were comfortable and clean. It was a great bargain having the breakfast included. Having booked our reservation online and not being familiar with the area, I was very pleased with the Hampton. We were in Santa Cruz to see the redwoods and had no idea how large the transient population was there. The Hampton was a nice, safe oasis, We would definitely stay there again. The only complaint we have at all was the size of the pool, wish it would have been bigger. Beyond that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! We really appreciate it, and are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel during your trip to Santa Cruz. We definitely hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're here, and thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing