We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Hampton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Nantucket
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good quality Hampton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

what I expect of the Hampton Inn brand; clean, comfortable, well-equipped room with interior access; mini refrigerator; bathroom with tub/shower; a three-story hotel at the eastern edge of Santa Cruz near Rte. 17; elevator; friendly and helpful staff; off-street parking with plenty of nearby dining choices; pier area and downtown Santa Cruz a short drive; don’t miss nearby Capitola; fairly priced; recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much! We're very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your comments. Hope that you will be back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    227
    90
    48
    24
See reviews for
260
175
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent one night last week. Convienent location, large double room with two queens that were super comfy with great sheets and pillows. Beautiful bathroom. Quiet location, a great nights sleep. We did not eat breakfast (went to Zacharys) but it looked like the usual Hampton Inn fare. Pretty small breakfast area now that I think about it. The parking lot was also surprisingly small for the size of the hotel, a little tight to maneuver around in.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank crthomson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we're delighted to know that you found the hotel to be so agreeable! Thanks for letting us know.

We will be beginning a renovation of our lobby/breakfast area next week, hopefully this will help as the breakfast seating will be expanded somewhat. I wish there was a way to "expand" our parking lot... but we do share with the Denny's next door, so parking availability is actually more extensive than it first seems. Hope that this didn't cause you a problem while you were staying with us.

Hope that you'll be able to come and stay with us again! Thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hampton is the perfect "no frills " hotel. Rooms are clean, beds comfy, exceptional staff and a great location. Coming from San Jose, its right before the traffic backs up on the freeway, easy access to downtown Santa Cruz without getting on the freeway.

Breakfast was a nice addition and the menu changed a bit each day of the 4 days we were there.

My husband was sick part of the time and the staff was incredibly accommodating. Stayed in two other hotels in San Francisco and San Jose that were a great deal more money than this Hampton. Value for dollar, this hotel wins every time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
So sorry that your husband was sick during your trip to Santa Cruz, but glad that our staff was able to help you out (hope he's doing better now!) Thanks so much for your comments, we're so happy to know that the hotel worked out so well for you and really appreciate your positive feedback. We hope that you can come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hampton with a large group of family. The rooms are very nice and clean with comfy beds and nice dark curtains. Breakfast was great...waffles, muffins, fresh fruit, omelets, I think there was even bacon or sausage. The staff went above and beyond for our party and was very courtious. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms open right out to the dining area, that's where I was. It was fine for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wonderful, thanks so much for letting us know! We've worked hard to improve our breakfast buffet and really appreciate the positive feedback on that. Thanks again for your review, please come and stay with us again next time you are in Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A fairly basic Hampton compared to many. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and nice beds. Small lobby and breakfast area. Limitied parking. Easy access to the freeway and the beach. In an interesting part of town with unusal street people in the vicinity but then again, most of Santa Cruz is like that anyways. The price was right and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAmericaLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We hope you do come and stay again! Thanks for your review, we're glad that you liked the hotel. Next time you come you'll be able to see our new lobby/breakfast area (should be finished by February '13).

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The staff were very helpful and friendly and it was clean and perfectly adequate for our visit. We enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast in the mornings was held in the lobby and provided just what we required.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review, we are glad that the hotel suited your needs while you were in Santa Cruz. Hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice new, clean and well maintained hotel. Rooms are nice with nice standard features like free WiFi, refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. Nice front counter staff. My only complaint was the breakfast (free). The oatmeal was cold, which is an indication that food temps are not being monitored...which is a food safety issue. Overall, very nice hotel. Probably the newest hotel in Santa Cruz. Would stay here again. Good location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FRW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for letting us know about the oatmeal, I wasn't aware that it wasn't warm enough and will definitely bring this up with our breakfast attendent. We're glad to hear that otherwise your stay went well, and hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing