We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Darling House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sea & Sand Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seaway Inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beachview inn(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
37
16
4
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
16
4
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was delicioushard boiled eggsdarrelloceansinksurfingdowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful home, delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, intriguing history and charming, generous owners. The beautiful thing about B&Bs for us is the chance to peek back in time through the history of a house and also the chance to connect with others who are curious, intelligent and open to new and unique experiences. the Darling House lived up to all we imagined. The location was perfect for us as we parked behind house and walked the waterfront and @a mile into the center of town.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Darling House was in a perfect location, on the ocean and very close to the wharf. It was built in 1911 and had tasteful antique furnishings. The innkeepers had lived there for 30 years so it was a family home and very well cared for with beautiful flower beds and fresh flowers throughout the house. The breakfast was all homemade and delicious. The only thing that could be improved upon would be the lighting for reading and more comfortable chairs however we enjoyed our stay very much, met some very nice people and would certainly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house, both upstairs and down, hav a great ocean view if this important. Not all rooms have a private bath.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We enjoy sharing our home with others who want to be at "home" on the edge of the Pacific.
Thank you for spending time with us & we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the Pacific (or is it the Ocean?) room, the one that has a big bay window overlooking the bay. It was the best B&B we've ever stayed in. It was like stepping into the past, and I mean that in all the good ways. The breeze from the sea and the rumble of the surf lulled us to sleep every night. We slept like rocks, knowing that in the morning we would be feasting on fresh fruit and scones and yogurt and the occasional hard-boiled egg, all artfully arranged--we even took pictures of the fruit arrangements! Karen and Darrell and Denise were terrific hosts, and I especially enjoyed the long conversations with Darrell. on a wide range of topics. We watched fireworks over the bay, first from the porch, then from our room window. An amazing fourth. We stayed four nights, and we will be back.

Room Tip: The other rooms looked just as cool when we glanced in, but they don't face the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

One of the favorite benefits to being an innkeeper are the wonderful people that we meet & the time we get to share with new found friends. Exchanging life stories & engaging in stimulating conversation is an attractive difference for a number of our guests.
We're blessed by many people who walk into our home as travelers and leave as lifetime friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Karen and Darrell have done an excellent job in preserving the house to its original splendor. It is within walking distance of the Boardwalk and other Santa Cruz attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at the Darling House at 3:40pm thinking that check in was at 3pm. However, I realized I had my times confused with other places we were staying along the coast during our trip. So after ringing the doorbell and then realizing we were early, we decided to just sit on the porch and enjoy the view until 4pm. A few minutes later, Mrs. Darling opened the door and she told us to just come on in. She asked us to fill out a registration card, and then asked us if we needed a Santa Cruz map. She was very nice and told us all the places we should visit during our stay.

We stayed in the Pacific Room, which has the best view in the house. The bed was very comfortable and sheets seemed fine, contrary to what another reviewer mentioned. Our room had its own bathroom, but I did not expect to see a bathtub without an attached showerhead. Then I saw the pitcher, so I knew we had to use that to bathe. However, when I tried to turn on the water, there was no space between the side of the tub and the water flow so it was difficult to even collect water in the pitcher. It was somewhat late in the evening so we just took a quick shower in the hallway bathroom.

The breakfast was very good and filling. The homemade croissants were kind of chewy, but I like it that way anyway so no complaints. There was also fruit, yogurt, granola, and various teas and juices. Mrs. Darling and her daughter were so hospitable, and we had a good conversation before leaving.

This was our first B&B experience, and overall we enjoyed our stay. I found it to be a very good value ($143 through a Groupon deal) in comparison to some of the other prices I found in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zippidydooda000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews