We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mistake.”
Review of The Darling House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Darling House
Ranked #9 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Charming house and antiques, but neglected, ill equipped and NOT CLEAN. (Definitely don't stay in the smaller rooms with shared bath.) Staff was variably helpful and rude. This place could be lovely, but for now, I couldn't wait to get home and take a shower.

Room Tip: Large more expensive rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCD, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We were delighted to have you with us last week-end and I enjoyed the several conversations we shared, including the movie review. It seemed you were quite pleased with your stay and I felt that was emphasized when I found the gracious tip and kind note that you left.
In reading this review I would like to extend our hospitality by offering a 2 for 1 visit any Sun-Thur you are able to make time in your busy schedule for another mini-vacation the edge of the Pacific.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a groupon for an overnight stay at the Darling House and had the most wonderful time. The grounds were amazing and there was a huge porch area overlooking the ocean for spectacular views! This family-run spot is fantastic - it's almost like staying at the Hearst Castle with all the historic items - but very friendly and down-to-earth, like going back in time. The breakfast was nice and simple, but elegant and scrumptious too - wow, homemade croissant rolls were the best I've ever had! The gardner must have special powers because the grounds were packed with pathways through so many types of plants and flowers. The veggie starts he let us have are thriving - thanks Mr. Darling!

Room Tip: Check website for room descriptions and pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drpepper1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Darling House was fabulous for atmosphere and charm. The hosts, the Darling family, made us feel like one of their own. Gorgeous views, delicious food, and it felt like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaCruzerLMNOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Darling House is an historic gem. It is in perfect original condition. Our room was very comfortable. Totally quiet and quite beautiful. We had an ocean view as well as a garden view.
Breakfast was amazing! Coffee and tea as well as homemade apple juice straight from trees in the yard, homemade granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh bakery croissants with jam, and eggs.
The Darling Family couldn't have been any nicer. They were very friendly and warm. We were given a tour of the home and as we were very interested, were told details of it's history.
We will treasure our memories of our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Owner at The Darling House, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Nothing makes me happier than hearing that you felt so relaxed while you were here. Here's to all of great memories we had in this house, and to all of the ones in the future.

Hope to see you again,
Darling House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This is a great site for a small group retreat. The location is fabulous and the gathering area cozy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckeelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

If you value/adore charming antique furniture, mouth-watering scones (made from scratch!) w/ yogurt and fresh fruit, and a calming, hospitable vacation environment, then this is it.

Our family took a mini-vacay in Santa Cruz last August and we were nervous and disgusted by the abundance of over-priced rat holes in the area. That's why we turned to this bed and breakfast and it was so worth it!

Everything was *very* clean and the sheets smelled of fresh laundry. It was like staying with grandmother at the farm. (We even had a lovely view of a garden outside our window.)

The room we had was small (I think there's a variety of rooms to choose from), but we didn't care - we really enjoyed spending time in the house's living room where you can lounge on the antique furniture while taking in the ocean views. There was so much to look at and you could even pull out a game to play. Very relaxing.

Would you believe that we were *very* welcome here with our 2-year-old daughter? Believe it. The women who own the home and run the B&B were lovely to us and our daughter and really wanted to help us feel welcome. They even sat down with a map to show us which places to visit in Santa Cruz.

It is definitely worth it to pay the extra fee for the breakfast.... Amazing and delicious and brought to you at a big table (so you meet other guests too).

This is definitely a place to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCD, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2010

Thank you for visiting with us and sharing family time at our B&B on the sea. It's delightful to have family's with children who stay and bless the house with their special energy.
We're glad you pressed thru the accommodation maze and found our welcoming home. We look forward to having you visit again for future days of beach fun.
Be well & travel safely. Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My husband and I love, love, love old architecture! This was a perfect place to stay for a couple like us! The rooms were amazing and beautifully crafted. The home was full of antiques and period furniture. We stayed here in early November to celebrate my Husband's 29th birthday.
We were minutes away from the downtown, boardwalk, and some of the best restaurants. Breakfast was wonderful, homemade, and light!
We stayed in the Pacific Ocean room, fabulous view of the water and wharf. We left the windows open (even though a little chilly) and woke up to the sounds of waves crashing and an awesome sunrise :) What more could we have asked for!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katycat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling House

Address: 314 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6145
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $182 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Darling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darling House Bed & Breakfast, a historic inn overlooking Northern California's beautiful Monterey Bay. Centrally situated in a quiet residential neighborhood on picturesque West Cliff Drive, we provide relaxing accommodations to travelers and friends seeking a memorable weekend getaway, a mid-week escape, a family vacation or a romantic getaway. As the only bed and breakfast inn directly on Santa Cruz's beautiful oceanfront, visitors appreciate the soft ocean sounds at night and the sights of gently rolling waves. Our facility is open year round with seven bedrooms for overnight accommodations, plus beautiful indoor space and a 1/2 acre of outdoor space which provide the perfect setting for gatherings of up to 150 people. Darling House is just a short stroll from Santa Cruz's leading attractions: Lighthouse Point, Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surfing Museum, Cowell Beach, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Santa Cruz Wharf and Natural Bridges State Beach. West Cliff Drive is also a short drive away from the University of California Santa Cruz campus and downtown Santa Cruz's Pacific Garden Mall retail, dining and entertainment district. Lighted by the rising sun through beveled glass, Tiffany lamps and open hearths, and the grace of genuinely open hearts, the Darling House Bed & Breakfast welcomes you into an experience of peaceful elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Darling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darling House Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing