We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I wasn't vegan...”

The Penny Ice Creamery
Ranked #4 of 21 Dessert in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Ice Cream
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If only I wasn't vegan...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Ahhh I loved this place when I when I still ate ice cream. The flavors are fresh, different and made with quality ingredients. They don't care how many flavors you ask to try and serve you tastes on cute little spoons (eco-friendly)! Prices aren't bad considering how delicious the ice cream is. The people there are always super friendly, welcoming and patient while you try all of the flavors.

The only downside to Penny is that it's a bit too small for the amount of people that are always pushing to get in!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I thought this place was cute, it had a long line which is usually a good sign. However, the ice cream flavors were almost too weird to be good. The ice cream had a strange consistency and left a funny aftertaste and feeling my mouth, almost as if I'd eaten butter. I don't think I want to give it another try. Also, it wasn't cheap, and there was hardly anywhere to sit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonetravellin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best pumpkin ice cream ever!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

There should be a line out the door here, even on cold days. This ice cream is perfect. The roasted pumpkin has the perfect hint of sweetness. Go to the kiosk on the main drag downtown or the shop one block away from the main street. There are different flavors at the kiosk and store - check out both!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank minipenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Scream for Ice Cream!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Love all the different flavors of ice cream which constantly change. They have homemade waffle cones which are really good. Ice cream is always fresh and they give free taste samples. The shop is small so it's best to get it to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mjnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It has the best ice cream, the best sauces and the best staff. It is an independent shop with a separate kiosk on Santa Cruz' main drag. They have an ever changing list of flavors which you can taste. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Penny Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing