We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is like a jail!”
Review of Big 6 Motel

Big 6 Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big 6 Motel
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Its not that the Hotel its self was bad it was the owners, they were like Prison Wardens. I have more freedom at my house then I do at this hotel. Me and my best friend wanted to get out of town for the weekend something low key, walk the board walk, mingle with the Locals but the owner was on our EVERY move. She would walk past the room and stare in the window, have her husband follow us while we were walking to the board walk. I guess its a 10$ fee for visitors and 20$ if they want to stay the night and we had a local friend get dropped off, he didn't even step foot in the room at all, and the own sent her daughter up harassing us saying "He needs to leave immediately hes not allowed in the room." Our friend was waiting for us out side of our room and the owners daughter had to have came up and told him he needed to leave 10-15 times. We gave in and paid the 10$ EVEN THO he did NOT enter the room. When we first arrived they had our refrigerator turned off which was a huge inconvenience and the microwave would only work if you picked it up and plugged it into the bathroom. The bedding had cigarette burn holes in it and the pool was out of service because it was as the owner said "Infected with something" . I WOULD NOT recommend this place or the other blue one next door as its owned by her husband!!

Room Tip: One on the bottom unless you mind walking up several flights of stairs to get to the second floor,
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 744ashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Big 6 Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

The only redeeming quality is the managers daughter. My advice to her is to go back to school. before you wake up one day and you see your mothers face in the mirror. You are too nice to sacrifice your life for mean people.The woman who runs this place is horrible! She yells and treats her guests as if they are criminals! I spent 2 hours sanitizing and cleaning before we could even relax after arriving. we viewed 4 other rooms all were even worse than this one.They are the ones who stole 20$ from us! she was looking for an excuse to keep our 2o$ deposit and when she had no real reason she went into the room and came out saying it smelled and made a huge scene! It did stink even more so when we arrived. If we hadn't paid online we would have turned around right away and left as soon as we saw and smelled the condition of the rooms. Very poor conditions disgusting management and a screaming old woman to scold you as if you have done something to her. The location is not so great. There are so many beautiful places in Santa Cruz . We only stayed here because we were in between homes and didn't want to spend $ on a place would only be at when we were not working. Nothing nice about this place. if you plan on staying here consider driving to watsonville to days inn same price huge rooms and friendly staff. big six should be condemned.who gives paying guests 1/2 a roll of 1ply for 3 nights? two threadbare towels blood stains on the walls????? food under the bed and tables sand everywhere and at least 5 different colors of random hair in the drain. Gross. If that weren't enough the crazy old bag that runs the office is a thief and will keep your deposit even if you have done nothing wrong. and display the accusation in front of the entire hotel guests and all.,.... horrible!!!!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else... really!!!!!read other reviews they are all pretty much the same. I wish we ha...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jewlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I stayed four nights here. Our room was very clean, , and the beds where quite comfortable. I suggest though that you bring your own pillows. We checked in very late and woke up the manager/owner, she has a strong accent and a little hard to understand, however; she was efficient and polite. What makes this motel so nice is you are walking distance to the beach and wharf. Definitely not an upscale resort, but not such as dive that your afraid to sit on the furniture. Plus free Wi-Fi was a plus with decent prices.

Room Tip: The one story building I prefer personally, no-one above you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryJane71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

got a room here through http://booking.com and was prepared for the worst, but things went pretty smoothly. i was prepared for cantankerous owners and was greeted by their daughter, a little cutie who was friendly as heck.

big six has definitely seen better days, but the owners keep the place clean, the price is decent and you're a block from the boardwalk, but also right next to downtown, which is why i wanted to stay here. Big 6 is very centrally located and if you don't have a car, you can easily walk to the beach or downtown in a matter of minutes.

i like the location and the place is cute, but the room had a heavily sanitized smell that slowly faded to vaguely-vomit, doubt i will be back. oh, and someone overdosed on pills while i was there. serious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MckinleyAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This day started off great until check in. The attendant was very rude. Rooms are very small. Heaters dont work properly. Dont dare complain they will only respond with yelling. Beware of this place only stay if nothing matters to you but sleeping. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chocolatetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Given the price of about $100 per night for a single, I expected more from this hotel. I brought a suit to attend a wedding and was amazed that there was no closet. There was no coffeemaker either. Parking was crowded and tricky, with minimal space for each car, and it was not easy to back out and turn around to get out to the street. At one point, all the spaces were taken. I am not sure if people park here illegally to go on the nearby boardwalk. I did see a sign for a nice-looking motel for $49 per night a couple of blocks away, and was disappointed that I already had committed to this one with priceline (which, it turned out, offered no discount in comparison with the walk-in rate). I did notice a "no visitor" policy posted, and I think that security might be an issue in the area. On the positive side, the room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelerwithbudget49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This motel was in a great location in Santa Cruz and was walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown.

The room was very cheap and although run down, it was tidy and hygienic. It offered all the necessary things we needed like a clean bed, tv, bathroom and towels.

The staff were also very nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RiccO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
River View Villa Hotel
River View Villa Hotel
#11 of 15 in Santa Cruz
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Beach Motel
Edgewater Beach Motel
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big 6 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big 6 Motel

Address: 335 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5597
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hotel Class:2 star — Big 6 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Six is located in Santa Cruz, along the beautiful coast of California. When coming to enjoy some sun in the fun, there’s nothing better than checking into a motel that offers the best location, with a stress-free environment. Big Six Santa Cruz is the best choice for inexpensive rates, great rooms and the friendly service that you as our customer deserve. Being located in the heart of Santa Cruz where guest will experience some of California’s best beaches, which are perfect for surfing, playing volleyball or just having a good time with family. In addition, the beach boardwalk is only two blocks from the motel. Please note that the property has been renovated as of May 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Big 6 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing