We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Islander Motel
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the Islander for 1 night after driving up the Pacific Coast Highway. We got a special rate of $60 for a king room for the night and thought this was excellent value for money. There is adequate parking, some of which is under cover. Our room was a decent size, clean and had a large fridge. The motel is a short walk to restaurants and not too far away from the boardwalk (approx 15-20min walk). There was complimentary toast and cereal available in reception in the morning. The only real complaint was that it is on a busy road and there was quite a lot of traffic noise, however this didn't particularly disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
68
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First the positives....decent price...parking OK...great bathroom...good lighting...shampoo and lotion supplied...great location about 1 mile from the water...good bed...lots of TV stations....average size room....nice clerk. The biggest negative was a small cathode ray tube that Motel 6 would love to have because most of their rooms have the same type. It is located on a busy street (Ocean) so there was quite a bit of traffic even at night. I used my old trick of keeping the air conditioner running not so much to cool the room but to provide "white noise" to drown out the vehicles nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A room was well sized. Beds are good. Everything looked clean.
I experienced lack of fresh air and some in unpleasure smell.
There are many other motels on this street. For me it was noisy inside during the night.

Resume: it is good, but as for me overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and could not have stayed any longer. The room was clean and comfortable but the area outside the room was noisy with people talking loudly and slamming doors at all hours plus a lot of vehicle noise. If you are travelling down the coast, stay in Carmel rather than Santa Cruz, as it is a much nicer town.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Level Contributor
337 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this motel for its price and were pleasantly surprised at what a good value it was. The check in process was quick and efficient. We had a clean and comfortable room on the second floor. We opened the window to cool the room a bit. Once the window was closed, we couldn't hear a thing from the rooms next to us or from the traffic. The king sized bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. The water pressure in the shower was great, and the water stayed hot for both of us. The amenities included shampoo, conditioner, and two bars of soap. The refrigerator was larger than the one we had in higher ranked accommodations. The furnishings looked a bit worn, but solid. Care is obviously taken in keeping up the rooms. We didn't use the pool, which is across the parking lot and visible from the rooms, but there is a wall that shields it from the street. The check out process was smooth, and the Islander has the cutest little front desk clerk I have ever seen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

By reading other reviews, we obviously were charged much more. We paid $146 for our king bed room which was clean with a comfortable bed but lumpy pillows. We stayed on a Saturday night and the noise was unbelievablely bad. Shouting from other rooms, doors banging, and traffic passing made it difficult to get any sleep, The staff appeared disinterested and the breakfast was very basic and poor. If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were in Santa Cruz for one night for a wedding and this was a good choice. Everything was as expected from other 4-dot Trip Advisor Reviews. It is older, well kept, clean, and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The king bed filled the room so I would not recommend that for families because there isn't a lot of room for all the kid paraphernalia. The motel is on a very busy boulevard that is noisy during the day but I didn't hear anything at night. No iron in the room. There is No Coffee Pot in the room, and the very light continental breakfast isn't open until 7:30 but thank goodness because that means you can discover Fins Coffee up the street which is worth the trip to Santa Cruz in itself. Many Europeans in residence made the experience a little more interesting. If you are on a budget, stay here, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Probably less foot traffic around second story rooms since the parking lot is right out the door of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertdwellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#14 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#27 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Property: The Islander Motel
Address: 522 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable,2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. All rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. Deposited Required. Extra Person $15.00 Per Person No Extra Beds or Crib,Payment will taken upon arrivel,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing