We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Inn to your Saves list
Mission Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopoed in Santa Cruz for a coupke of nights en route to San Francisco. The Inn was modern, comfortable and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included andcwas a self service including cereal, english muffins, waffles, bagels and all the accompaniments you needed. Well wirth consudering if visiting Santa Cruz

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
62
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
venice
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mission Inn in santa cruz turned out to be a great value. I travel extensively and found the inn to be spotlessly clean and comfortable. Additionally, Naomi at the front desk allowed me to get in to my room earlier than the 3:00 pm check-in time. Though the inn is on a main road, it was quiet allowing me to sleep peacefully

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first visit. We were with a group. We had a nice room on the ground floor--very comfortable. The hotel clerk was very helpful in helping me check in and get things into our room,
The breakfast room was upstairs and and with no elevator was difficult for me to get to. I did get up the first morning but it was too hard so my husband brought my breakfast down to the room.

Room Tip: Ground floors good and no noise from above. We would stay here again if we return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Mission Inn and found it to be a pretty good place. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in / around Santa Cruz. I picked this hotel because of its location and, when compared to the prices of the hotels near the water, Mission Inn was a relative bargain. There is free wifi and breakfast and a sauna and hot tub are available. The hotel is on a busy street - but I heard none of the street traffic. The staff is very friendly and good at what they do. The room was clean although the layout (at least in my room) where the sink and towels were outside of the bathroom was a tad funky. The mattress and pillows were great as was having a large mini-frig and microwave in the room. The room heater / a/c unit was a tad noisy but in some ways it was great white noise for sleeping. I would stay at the Mission Inn again.

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyjfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mission Inn was a nice find for us. We usually stay at a name-brand motel, but it was late and we were tired from a l-o-n-g drive. We saw the Mission Inn upon arriving in Santa Cruz, and decided to give it a chance. The clerk was very helpful and personable, and the room was very nice. They also offer AAA discounts. We spent a while in the spa tub, then in the sauna. Great way to unwind after a day on the road. Nice, restful night on a comfy bed. The next morning, we were treated with a delicious continental breakfast, then were on our way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatD093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was very clean and had all the amenities; fridge, hairdryer, good A/C, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's located near good eateries and grocery store. We only had one night to stay but certainly would've stayed longer. It doesn't have that "big corporation" feel; it's more homey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidden valley lake
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

First and foremost, really nice staff especially Rebecca at reservations. I enjoyed her complimentary upgrade into a King Room. We extended our stay, and it would have been nice to have the same rate as the first night, however it was at such a great value one can't complain about an additional $10 with taxes.
If you go down the street you can jog westward and reach West Cliff Drive and jog all the way to the Oceanside and jog your way to Natural Bridges State Park, from the views of birds at Natural Bridges and the waves crashing to the amazing houses along the way, simply amazing! Only ding is that they don't keep the Dry Sauna going all day. I know this raises costs but for guests to have to wait for it to heat up and it not being ready can be a bummer. But nothing can be perfect. I also enjoyed the Breakfast room as well! A lot of Carbs but who cares if your on vacation! Maybe hardboiled eggs addition would be nice. I work at a hotel In the Napa Valley, and I understand the behind the scenes and being professional and accommodating. For what this hotel offers, and it's location I really enjoyed my stay and so did my significant other! We will be back. Oh and Housekeeping cleaned everything when we asked which was really nice!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Property: Mission Inn
Address: 2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. Most rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing