We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ocean View”

Aquarius - Dream Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Aquarius - Dream Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 373 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bay Street
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ocean View”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food and good service. The deserts were fantastic. The Ocean View was wonderful. The restrooms were clean.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Critical V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    107
    39
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“+ Stunning ocean front view, + excellent Californian fare, + nice modern decor, - service needs some improvement”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My 3 companions and I were Aquarius first-timers and amazed by the view & decor. The salmon and beef we ordered were outstanding & we are still talking about our delicious dinner. Food & drinks are pricey but the Aquarius a top notch destination in SC.

However, our experience had some flaws: Our request for the free window table was denied and were told you cannot reserve them...just to find a second later that the empty window table was actually hold for a party of 4!!! Moreover, our waitress was very pushy but after we send her away twice since we didn't want to be rushed through the dinner she finally gave us enough time to enjoy the dinner. In summary: outstanding chef, below average service.

I highly recommend my followers the Aquarius Bar for Happy Hour (Sun-Thur 3:30-5:30pm) and their Wednesday 3-course prix fixe menu for $25.

+ stunning ocean front view,
+ excellent Californian fare,
+ nice modern decor,
- service needs some improvement

Average entrée: $25.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food, wonderful views, friendly and warm service. I think their clam chowder in the best in the area, and they have some of the best fish and chips. Great wine list.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breakfast overlooking the ocean”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The meal was excellent. Fast, friendly service...with a sense of humor. The portions were high quality and more food than either of us could eat. Coffee right at the table and a view that was worth enjoying.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwrfshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food is very good. The clam chowder is one of the best I have had. Great views of the beach and ocean. They have happy hour in the bar and appetizer specials.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocohead32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius - Dream Inn also viewed

 

Been to Aquarius - Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing