We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions can change!”
Review of Pacific Blue Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Blue Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived here hot and tired after a 7 hour drive and were very disappointed with the curb side appeal, it took us a while to find it! and then to be greeted with a locked door and note for "late arrivals" (it was 7pm) was not the best start, and my husband was not very complimentary, I hope there's no CCTV! However once in our room was fab, very big bed, lovely and clean and a great shower. Once refreshed our moods improved. We had a great nights sleep and breakfast made the first impressions disappear. The staff couldn't be more helpful and accommodating, shame they are not there full time! The breakfasts were delightful, so much choice and presented wonderfully, try the popovers! a first for us but one I'm sure I'll try at home!!!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by location, some of Santa Cruz is quite "rough" with lots of bums, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

PRICE - $275 total, one night, one room king(?) comfortable bed, for midweek in August.
LOCATION – Sort of a funny (so-so) location in a transitional block (some old, some new, some vacant) - feels like you are on, or just beyond, the edge of town, almost like an outpost. One or two block walk into “downtown” Santa Cruz, and maybe a 10 minute walk the other direction to main beach/pier/boardwalk.
ROOM – Building is neat and new three-story new construction, with three rooms on each floor, and a breakfast/eating area and courtyard on the ground floor. Room was modernistic and minimalistic and simplistic; appears “new.” Bedroom and bathroom, neatly decorated. Bedroom included bed, small table and chairs, flat screen TV. No view (only would see out into neighboring apartment building about 30 feet across the courtyard).
STAFF – Friendly and helpful, both at check-in and at breakfast the next morning.
OTHER – Breakfast provided by the owner; order off a simple but fancy menu. Food was excellent.
Inn has a few bikes available for free use around Santa Cruz, which we used and appreciated. Inn might consider upgrading or better maintaining the bikes, as one had a flat tire (needed air), both needed oil, and seat adjustment was not easy. This minor maintenance had to be done by the guest.
In off hours, no staff is onsite. Your key card opens front door, as well as a series of two locked doors if using the rear entrance where free parking is provided. A homeless person was hanging out near the rear entrance in the evening when we returned and “greeted” us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasternUSA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Pacific Blue Inn. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. And the breakfast was simply one of the best I've ever had at a B&B. The rooms were comfortable, and the courtyard lovely and inviting. The inn is situated wonderfully, a few minutes walk to the beach and boardwalk in one direction, and a few minutes walk to downtown in the other. Parking was easy, and the wifi quite adequate. If every I'm in Santa Cruz again, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If available, book a room on a lower floor. The windows face an apartment building, and on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Came here for a mother/daughter getaway and couldn't have been happier! The Pacific Blue Inn has it all, a great location, clean comfortable rooms, scrumptious breakfast and a great midweek rate! We could walk to downtown and the boardwalk in a nice peaceful location. We will stay here again on our next visit to Santa Cruz! Thank you pacific blue for the great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

An amazing B&B. We arrived very early for check in and were told that our room wouldn't be read till around 2pm. We were given our room keys, a parking spot and recommendations on where we could go until then. When we came back after going to the beach, we were surprised to see how stylish and beautiful the room was. Very comfortable bed, great bathroom and a nice outdoor gathering area with a gas fireplace. Breakfast was great in the morning with fresh fruit and a menu with great selections. My only negative comment (barely) is that there's some apartments right next door to the B&B whose balconys overlook the hotel. Some of the people there were kind of loud until around 11pm, but it wasn't too much of an issue after that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The frontage disguises the lovely features of the interior of this small hotel not far from the beach and the town. Good use of space means there's not only a courtyard with a small burner for heat but also small spaces for tables/chairs outside each door which overlooks this internal courtyard. All well-decorated and calming. Our room had no view but was a lovely space in itself. Equipment all very up to date and in good order. Nice adapted shower in big bathroom. Lift. Room heater. Parking round back. Didn't have breakfast here. Really welcoming reception and well-informed owners. I liked this place a lot and I hear it gets fully -booked quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was an awesome Bed & breakfast and both were great. The owners put their hands on everywhere from the clean rooms to them cooking the breakfast (which was awesome). I think the bed was the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in( if you like stiff beds these beds might not be right for you), you will sink in it like quick sand. The owner reccomended that we ride bikes on the coast line and he let us use his personal bikes, wow we wanted to rent them. Very Green hotel as well. Stay Here and be Happy!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kraig4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
0.3 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Blue Inn

Address: 636 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4410
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $124 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Blue Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Blue Inn is Santa Cruz! We’re a brand new bed and breakfast Inn with an eco-conscious heart and a local flair. Promoting green living and a healthy outlook on life, the Inn is located on Pacific Avenue within walking distance to the best Santa Cruz has to offer. Inspired by the NY Times article “36 Hours Santa Cruz” the founders of the Inn set out to create an environment that would allow visitors to take advantage of the best of Santa Cruz all within walking distance of their accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Blue Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing