We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A split exhibit”
Review of Mission State Park

Mission State Park
Ranked #24 of 83 things to do in Santa Cruz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park houses a replica of the mission founded in 1791.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A split exhibit”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We've been on a quest to visit all of the CA missions. This one is unique, because it has become split between religious remembrance and a secular history. A private group has built a small, half size chapel to hold the relics from the old mission. Around the corner is a state park. They are maintaining some of the original "dorms" and telling the stories of the people who lived there from the 1790s to the 1950s. Here you can learn more about day to day life in the Missions. I enjoyed the state park and the displays on daily life. When you visit the Mission make sure you visit both halves, the state park and the small chapel. This particular state park *was* on the closure list. When I visited in May of 2013, they were open only on weekends. Both the state park and don't have fees, just ask for donations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank deelightfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Small But cute”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Ok My Hubby and I are always visiting Mission and so on our recent trip made the stop here. The original building was destroyed by an earthquake so there isn't much left here but one small building but I commend them for lovingly restoring it and the friendliness of the lasy in the gift shop. Very cute but not a lot to look at

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin_and_Christi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Santa Cruz Mission”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Santa Cruz Mission is the 12th of the Franciscan missions that run up (& down) the coast of California. The Santa Cruz Mission has been restored and is waiting to tell it's story to you.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinSag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Doesn't compare to any of the other California Missions”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

While the location may be historical, having visited a number of other California museums, I expected much more. We were disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JCZhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a bit hidden, make it a quick stop”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I lived in Santa Cruise as a child and never noticed the mission (!?). People actually lived there until mid-60s. Worth a visit, as our missions are a state gem.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank T_From_N_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mission State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing