We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Place”
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Pasatiempo
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sweet Place”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was a fun little place for the three traveling friends. A bit dated, but rooms with really tall wooden ceilings, ceiling fans (in case you need to cool down after all that freezing fog out there!). Quaint. Good breakfast too! I see a few complaints about the lack of A/C. Well, most people and businesses in that part of California do not have A/C as it/s right on the coast and rarely even gets into the 80s.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capoppy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, you are correct. Our location provides somewhere of a natural AC, but we do understand that a few days out of the summer can be warmer than others. In the event that a room is too warm for comfort, we can provide a portable fan at front desk upon request. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    138
    90
    43
    48
See reviews for
161
141
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We checked in and fell in love with the hotel. We also had the absolute best service and food at the hotel's steakhouse. We even gave our compliments to the reservation clerk upon our check out. Our problem started after we checked out. Two days later (while still on vacation in another city) we received a "courtesy call" from the hotel's manager informing us that we had stolen a hair dryer from the room and either needed to return it immediately or be charged $35. We explained that we had not even used a hair dryer during our stay, but the manager claimed we took it. I had to ask her 3 times where the hair dryer was kept in the room before she would respond, and when I offered to come back to the hotel to look for it, I was told we would not be let in the room because other guests had checked in already and they had had to be supplied with a hair dryer. When I told her we were going to stop by anyway I was told there was no reason to because she wouldn't speak to us about it. When I asked who else I could speak to about the charge, she told me "no one." We were given no way at all to solve this dispute and were simply told our credit card was being charged, then She hung up on me, though I had not even raised my voice. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Booked this room through priceline. No mention of no A/C. It is 90 degrees and no A/C. I called the front desk and they informed me the hotel does not have A/C, but she could bring me a "portable unit". She arrived with a box fan - not a portable unit. I asked if I could check out and get my money back. She responded that I would need to call priceline to get the refund. I did this and when priceline contacted the hotel to process the request, they refused. They did offer to put me in an upgraded room. When I inquired if this room had A/C, I was told no. So needless to say, I checked out without a refund and have checked into another hotel - with A/C!! For about $35 more I have a king suite at the best western. Much happier here; though not happy to have paid for 2 hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveler4579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed there recently with our small dog. The location was great. Although not walking distance to downtown, we got to UCSC(to see our daughter) in less than 5 minutes, downtown in less. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable bed. The walls were pretty solid. It was sold out that night, but never heard our neighbors. Nice toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great for visitors to the area because of our close proximity to UCSC, as you stated, and also great restaurants, boutique shops, and the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you consider us on your next trip to the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

The Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The location of this Hotel is nice in the respect that it is safe and a very easy drive to all Santa Cruz has to offer. The draw back is that it is not within walking distance of anything. The bedding was ok except for the pillows which were so lofty with foam that they were impossible to sleep on (especially if you sleep on your stomach or side). If you are "pillow particular" I suggest bringing your own. The Motel is a bit dated and the light fixtures could use replacing but it was clean. The walls did seam rather thin as I could hear every word of my neighbors phone conversation. It has a nice pool and landscapping (no spa) ahnd also a resturant. I would have been happy had they served breakfast however it did not (this was a Saturday morning). Over all I would really give it more of a 2.5 rating.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the buildings have two windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lerin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry you found aspects of our hotel that were not to your liking. You are correct; we are not walking distance to any specific location because we are right off Highway 17. We are about two to three miles from restaurants, boutique shops, and the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Unfortunately, we do not provide continental breakfast seven days a week, but we do offer it from Monday-Saturday. You may have missed the time frame that it was available. Thank you again for posting a review. We hope you consider us on your next trip to Santa Cruz.

Yours in Hospitality,

Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I never got to check in, ... because of the rudeness of the people there!!! I asked for a supervisor and a hispanic woman (around 40) was so rude as to tell the first girl to have me escorted out! Puzzled, I asked her if she treats all customers this way? She turned to leave and I asked to speak to her supervisor. A guy (about 25) came out only to re-inforce his "manager". I asked who was his boss and he said, "his dad" owned the place. I asked to speak to his dad and he said his dad was in Mexico. I was never treated so badly in all the hotels I've ever stayed in around the world.... DON'T STAY THERE, RUDE PEOPLE!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank samadhi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benton, MT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel in the Santa Cruz area and live not that far away near san Jose. It was just outside of Santa Cruz but you could be at the beaches in ten minutes & it is also very close to the UC campus. We had a discount and decided to stop by. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and beautiful grounds. The room was huge! If you go there ask for the handicapped room (if it is not needed). It was on the end near the restaurant. The food is pricey but good and the bar has an excellent ambiance with a fireplace. We were both very pleasantly surprised. They also included a "breakfast" but it was just adequate. The usual oatmeal, juice, pastries but it was nice because we didn't even know it was included. there is an outdoor deck that overlooks the beautiful grounds and the swimming pool was sparkling clean even tho it was winter. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: corner room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KulKat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Property: Inn at Pasatiempo
Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing