We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I wanted to like this place but I didn't.
It had many good points such as cleanliness, most of the staff were friendly and helpful, it looked cute with all of the separate little cottages, it had xmas decorations and lights up and the kitchen had a multitude of free food in it.
The bad points outweighed all that for me. The fact that the place closed for the best part of the afternoon, with no access to rooms, bathrooms or belongings, there were no heaters in the room and the temperatures were pretty baltic at night, the "lock" on our room door was just a hook on the door that looped onto the doorframe, the coded doors used the same codes the whole time we were there making us feel quite unsafe, a member of staff asked us to move buildings on our third night as the one we were in was apparently not supposed to be open, and we had to leave our food and kitchen supplies behind as we were catching an early bus and couldn't get access to the main building or kitchen. There was also a power cut one evening in which we had to cook and eat dinner but I honestly didn't mind that and they're common enough during rainy season.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nichnaimhsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

We had a wonderful stay with our group in one cottage. The atmosphere is quaint and the hostel is located very close to the beach and restaurants/shops. Hostel staff did not adequately stress the point that, what we later found out, the hostel is located in a very high crime district. One of our cars, with out of state plates, was broken into and EVERYTHING wtih any value was taken. There is a piece of paper taped to the check-in desk with a crime warning, but we did not see it when we checked in as the clip board was on top of it. Police do not come out, you file report on line. Very frustrating. That said - we'd stay there again. AND deadbolt the cottage door as bunk house folks were trying to get into our cottage to use the shower late at night and in the morning. I do not think they change the "secret" access code very often......

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very nice hostel, free internet, free coffee, cute small cottages, rooms are very clean and quiet, not far from beach, great location, parking nearby for only a small fee

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleilMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hostel is so supercute, friendly & well located. The staff are so nice & helpful, the other guests were all laidback & friendly. We had a private room in the main building which had a double bed & a single bed in it & was a really good size, i liked the feel of the place, it was kind of shabby chic without realising it was, & it had a nice family vibe. The shared bathrooms were clean, as was the kitchen. We especially appreciated the 'free food' in the kitchen that you can help yourself to. Only $2 to park your car right around the corner was great & it was only a 5 min walk down to the beach/boardwalk. Next time i would love to stay in one of the little cottages on the hostel grounds cos they looked really lovely.
The curfew/no alcohol policy really didn't bother us as we were only there for a quiet Tuesday night out of season, but i can imagine that if you were there for a weekend stay that restrication would be really annoying. But the plus side of it is that you get a really good nights sleep without any annoying backpackers playing bongos or chatting all night!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnivles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

pros
- ideally located, not too far from the boardwalk/beach
- the cottages are adorable, staff was friendly and eager to help answer our questions
- rooms and sheets were clean
- someone mentioned that there was no heat, ours was heated though the switch to turn it on was kind of difficult to find

cons
- the 11pm curfew. we arrived late and hadn't eaten yet. So we raced to a place to eat and raced back to the hostel. The doors are coded and the code changes after 11pm.
- We went during the off season in January and street parking was already scarce. I can only imagine how hard it would be during the summer
- Can't stay longer than 3 nights

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haratann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This hostel was okay. We stayed one night in February 2009. Our room (queen bed/twin bed), one of two in a cottage sharing a bath, was large and clean, but cold. The sheets provided were also clean, but turn and ill-fitting. This hostel has an 11:00 PM curfew and no alcohol rule. Neither affected me, but next time I’ll spend an extra $10 and stay in one of many hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This is the most authoritarian hostel I've stayed at. Strict rules such as 11 PM curfew and lock out between 11 AM and 5 PM make this hostel a poor choice for value compared to staying at hotels nearby. In addition, the rooms/cottages were not heated at all so we woke up able to see our breath! The blankets provided seemed dirty as well. If you're visiting Santa Cruz part of the fun is the downtown bar scene and having to return to your room at 11 PM makes you feel like you're 15 years old again living at home. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hostel except as a last choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jnovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
750 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages

Address: 321 Main Street, Beach Hill, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5017
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing