We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in a convenient spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were very happy with our one night stay in the Holiday Inn Express. Everything was new and up-to-date. We appreciated the outdoor heated pool for a quick dip (it was chilly outside) and the included breakfast. This hotel is very convenient to the freeways, but not as convenient to the boardwalk or shopping district - you would want to drive to both of them from here. We loved the choice of pillow - hard or soft- for each sleeper!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariatravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

This annual trip requires real rest, as all day adult sports camp leaves one sore and very fatigued. This brand new facility with large firm mattresses and quiet rooms is the best we've found. In tuning-up this brand new building, I might quiet the elevator arrival bell for the benefit of those rooms near it. The staff was top notch and helpful in suggesting the restuarants in walking distance. I really think they could have handled our minor change in reservations after booking, or handle it on line. I appreciate manager Angelique's accomodation of our revision, but she's clearly got more to do than authorize something that simple. Definately worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellerwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Very new and clean. Comfortable beds. Nice helpful staff. Usual Holiday Inn Express breakfast., which was fine. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Good clean and fairly new hotel. Friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was ok. It pretty much what you want from one of these hotel chains. Easy to find and its conveniently located at the end of the highway on the say into the city of Santa Cruz. It was very quiet and a relaxing place after a busy day in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat! The staff was wonderful and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wonderful. The breakfast and great with variety. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evi319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed one night on a vacation to the beach/boardwalk. We booked not knowing much about it other than it was fairly new and we were very pleased when we arrived. The first thing I noticed was the brand new smell of the hotel. Everything was emaculate and the reception staff was very helpful. Our room was very clean and modern. We stayed in a double room and it was quite spacious. The comfort of the bed for us was amazing! It was very cozy! The pillowcases were labeled 'soft' & 'firm" to choose which would be more comfortable which I thought was unique and cool. The bathroom sink area sat on a shelf area which was a great place to keep our toiletries. There was a hairdryer (powerful and new!). The only thing I didn't care for was the supplied shampoo and soaps. Definately bring your own-there was not much a lather quality to the shampoo. After being on the beach all day, I needed something that made me feel a little cleaner! The morning breakfast had a good selection of bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurts, etc. Juices, and coffee as well. The pool was small but we were there to go to the beach not the pool. The hours of breakfast were a little short, so you need to get down there before it shuts down. This hotel made our trip to SC very relaxing and enjoyable. I was impressed with the hotel and will definately stay again when we return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coulfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed here with spouse and two teenagers for a weekend trip to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk. Because it was a Saturday stay all hotels in the Santa Cruz area were on the higher end; which is why this one was more $ than one would pay for a Holiday Inn Express somewhere else.

The hotel is newer as the the room was nice, clean with a very modern bathroom. It is a three story U shape with the top of the U being one story which I believe is their maintenance area. The pool is rather small and in the middle of the facility. There is nothing nearby that would bring you to this hotel other than your need for a hotel room. The breakfast was adequate, but there is a Denny's across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busy-Mom-of-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $131 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing