We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

The setting is right off hwy 101 so although there isn't much charm to the location, it is easy access. It felt efficient, clean and maybe a little boring. The staff was friendly. There is an outdoor pool, but no spa. The gym has nice machines, but no free weights. I noticed two computers in the lobby (very public place), but I brought my laptop and had no issues logging on in my room. Probably my favorite thing was the ease of parking under the hotel with access to the elevator. Even though the hotel is on a busy street, the room was relatively quiet. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows could be improved upon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloMe-oTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    198
    55
    27
    23
See reviews for
225
138
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon for a one night stay. The check-in
clerk was friendly and helpful, explaining how the room key could double
as an electricity conservation feature in the room, a green feature. The room
had incandescent bulbs rather than compact fluorescent lamps (CFL's). WiFi
service was solid, but a check of www.grc.com's
"Shields Up," showed open software ports vulnerability. Continental breakfast included cheese omelets, sweet rolls, toast, bagels, and fruit juices. There were no fresh apples, bananas, or oranges unlike other Holiday Express Inns we have visited.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jkohler217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is a great updated hotel that is looking really good. The front desk was very helpful and happily answered all our questions and items we asked for. They upgraded us to the suite which was very nice to have the "living room" to watch some extra TV. The rooms are nice, clean, and updated. Would highly recommend this hotel as a great base for exploring the Santa Cruz area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor_Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We were visiting colleges and had four teenagers with us. The hotel staff was friendly and very accomodating. The rooms were clean. The bathrooms were sparkling. We had easy access to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk. The complimentary breakfast offered to us was ample and delicious. Everyone found something they liked. I left my coat behind in the room's closet. A simple call to the front desk from the road was all it took for my coat to be sent to me - it arrived the next day. We would stay here again and again. A great value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbreed5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We just wanted to get away for a few days during spring break with our children (9yrs and 12 yrs). The Holiday Inn Express was a great place to spend the night in Santa Cruz. The staff was very friendly and professional. Even made an extra effort to get us checked into our room early. The rooms were well furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was more than the typical Continental Breakfast served at other similar hotels. We enjoyed our visit, brief as it was.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Friendly check - in. Big breakfast area. Two internet computers in the lobby - usually occupied but with a printer. Free wi-fi in room appreciated. No fridge or microwave. We asked for a roll-away but we were told they were both checked out - two for the entire hotel? The place looks new, comfy queen beds. Nice bathrooms. Annoying "green" feature - have to put your keycard into the slot to get the lights to work. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

New hotel (2010) with up to date decor, friendly staff and quiet rooms. All rooms are "green," requiring your room card key to activate lights and heating/cooling. Nearly all rooms face away from the somewhat busy Ocean Blvd and as such tend to be quiet. If there is a negative about the hotel, it would be the small, tight underground parking garage but this is a minor issue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley25NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing