We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Nearby Hotels
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$162
$144
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaway Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$166
$138
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$129
$112
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
218
207
60
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
207
60
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscinnamon rollsunderground garageshort drivefree breakfastwould stay here againclean hotelking suitebeds were very comfortablebreakfast roomroad tripparkingboardwalkfreewayhousekeepingdowntownhallway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 537 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Very new, clean, and spacious hotel with (generally) friendly staff. Location is ok, not close to the beach really.
However, had serious issue with the price of the rooms to which the member of staff i spoke to was extremely unhelpful. I booked the room 3-4 weeks in advance over the phone and gave credit card details, and was informed the price would be 176dollars for two nights.
When I arrived at the hotel my details were on the system, and I was given a form to sign for room to be charged to my credit card. Since the price was confirmed over the phone I signed the form withouth (unfortunately) looking at the amount to be charged.
4-5 days after my stay in the hotel, the credit card was charged 320dollars instead of the 176 quoted at the original time of booking.
When contacted, the member of staff I spoke to was extremely unhelpful, merely stating that the form had been initialed for this charge, and disregarded the fact that a price had been quoted when the room was originally booked and my credit card details were taken.
Would not recommend this hotel for the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggluais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here in early July 2009. You could still smell the newness in the room. The location while not great was just down the way from Marianne's Ice cream shop which was fabulous. We were here two nights...took the scenic route all day down highway one to get there from San Francisco...went to the boardwalk for fun that night. it was a drive but we didn't really expect to walk. It is a family friendly place to go. Tacky in a good way. The next day we drove down to Monterey for the day. it was a couple of hour drive and a great place to visit. We stayed in Santa Cruz because we were flying out of SFO and Monterey was too far to drive to the airport in the morning. We were pleased with the hotel and the staff. Breakfast was pretty typical ...maybe not as well stocked as some other HIE where we have stayed. On check in at 5pm they could have used two people at the desk. He was very friendly but there was a line and he seemed to be the only person there to answer the phone. We weren't in a hurry but it did take a little longer than it should have. Overall a good experience. Great place to stay on the way to monterey or to do day trips from. Not a beach walk to the beach but if you don't mind driving it was fine, Underground parking was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel was brand-new quality in terms of cleanliness and organization. Rooms were attractive and well equipped with comfortable beds, plenty of outlets, great showers. Just don't expect a view - it's wedged onto a little property just off Highway 1, and our window overlooked a vast pile of garbage from the property next door. Prices seemed a little high for a Holiday Inn Express, but then we were there in August, and it was a competitive deal for the area.

Be aware that the hotel is not near the waterfront or beach, if that's what you're interested in. (Although we found the Santa Cruz waterfront rather disappointing, commercial and trashy.) You'll have to drive 5-10 minutes to get there, and then find a place to park (not elementary).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

You could smell how new this place was when we arrived,only been open for 3 months so everything is looking nice & new.
Fast & friendly check in,excellent under cover parking,nice big room with 2 beds,nice pool area although I would imagine that the rooms level with the pool could be rather noisy when the pool is busy.
Breakfast is included but finishes at 930am,we arrived on the first morning at 915am to find just 2 yoghurts & a bit of scrambled egg left,when we asked for some more we were told that they wouldn't do any more as it was close to closing,one hopes that this is just teething troubles & they will sort it eventually,as it was it meant any early rise the second morning then back to bed for an hour or so!
Now the bad bit,this was our second visit to Santa Cruz & we wanted to revisit the Boardwalk & Downtown & frankly this hotel is not really handy for either,Downtown took about 25 minutes to walk,the Boardwalk about 45 minutes & about another 15 added on if you wanted the Wharf.
Overall a very nice new hotel,spacious & spotless but the location wasn't ideal for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed in Santa Cruz for one night and was delighted with everything this hotel had to offer. The rooms were large and spotlessly clean, parking was free, breakfast was also free and the pool area was very nice although it wouldn't accommodate many people if the hotel was busy. The only downside to the hotel was the location. It was in an area that we felt we wouldn't want to walk around in late at night so we took a taxi. We stayed on a Tuesday night and Santa Cruz was extremely quiet. We eventually found a bar with less than ten people and hung out there for a while. During the day the place was really buzzing though and it's a lovely place to explore!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews