We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel though a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our room was clean and newly remodeled. Nice bedding, carpet and bathroom. Everything was nicely cleaned. Close enough to drive a mile or 2 for downtown and the Boardwalk but not close enough to walk. The free breakfast is one of the better free breakfasts we've had at a hotel. Standard yogurt, fruit and cereal but also hot eggs and breakfast meat (different each day). There is a small pool and no hot tub, which we were disappointed by. My 2 qualms were; one, the price is very high. I know it's summer and a desirable location, but we went mid week and paid $250/night. This is at best, a $200 room anywhere else. The second, the location. The price might be better worth it if it were on the beach, but it was in town, off the freeway and our room looked out on a shanty neighborhood! The only disturbance was a loud garbage truck at 5am on Thursday morning. Other than that, it's an eyesore but not a deterrence from the trip.

Room Tip: Room 244 viewed the shanty neighborhood but there were really no disturbances besides an early morni...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benandsophiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 520 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed July 29th, 2014 Room 242. I trap in total 16 bedbugs and took to the front desk.
I asked changing room, but the hotel was full. I asked to change hotel and the assistance talk on the phone, but I think that the other hotel was very expensive because just said: "ufff". So the hotel did change the sheets, but that did not help because the bedbugs went out again, later I asked for some insecticide, pesticide, or something to kill them, but only the hotel had Lysol alcohol wipes.
The manager never show up to give apologies, just the assistance that only said that the hotel will discount one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Maria M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our quick trip to Santa Cruz during our son's tournament in the area. It was clean, upgraded and the hotel staff was very friendly. It was nice that they provide breakfast. It wasn't spectacular, but it was enough to get us going in the morning. The breakfast area wasn't huge, especially if you go at the time most people are going. As always the prices in Santa Cruz are a bit inflated for my liking, but this was a nice hotel considering all hotels are pricey there.

Room Tip: Our window looked out at the pool, so if you don't want people to see in your room you had to ke...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Dear Tracy C.

Thank you for your review of out hotel, I was glad to hear we were the perfect spot for your sons tournament and that we were able to meet most of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back next year if the tournament is located in our area!

Thank you,
Joel K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Staff was always very friendly. The only downside to our room was that there was no refrigerator or microwave, and the AC was a bit on the louder side. There was never any ice in the ice machine, that was a bit annoying. Breakfast had a nice selection, but had a small seating area, get there early to find a place to sit. Parking garage was tight for mid to large size SUV's. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Request poolside rooms on first floor, less hassle with luggage and noise was to a minimum.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2015

Dear Jymart,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday inn Express in Santa Cruz, I am glad to hear you were pleased with the friendliness of our associates. We are indeed looking at purchasing microwaves, and refrigerators for our rooms. I do apologize about the ice machines being out of ice in the hallway however in the future please ask up at the desk and we would be happy to get some for you from the other areas the we have ice machines. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed in the Holiday in Express in Santa Cruz for 6 weeks and felt at home every day of that time. The friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate my every need and recommend great local activities. Hansen Steiger was especially helpful and outstanding in every way. All in all, A+ for service. I was sad to say goodbye and would gladly return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 24Kelly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2015

Dear 24Kelly42,

Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate the time you took to do a review on the hotel. I will pass on the kind words you wrote regarding Hansen, he is a true asset to our establishment, and I am sure he will be thankful for the mention. We hope to see you back should your travels ever bring you back to the Santa Cruz area.

Thanks again,

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Front desk staff were great. I found them to be helpful and knowledgeable
I agree with another reviewer, the breakfast area was very crowded. With that said, the hotel was sold out so it should be expected.
Parking was tight but there was plenty of it. Cleaning staff was great.
Fairly easy to get to the Boardwalk.
We were told the pool was heated, but when we visited it was Cold..... Maybe the heater was broken??

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lallabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2015

Dear lallabear,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate hearing your comments about our team, I will pass those along. I am sorry to hear about you pool experience with the water being so cold, this is something that we don't expect to hear about in July and I will have the Engineering team look into it to make sure that this issue is corrected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here 6 nights over 4th July, and given the season the price was fine. When you arrive be careful not to over-shoot the entrance as you could end up on the freeway instead! The parking under the hotel was hardly ever more that half full - contrast this with the Hampton Inn - and our reception was warm and efficient - an attitude that continued through our stay. It was our room (3rd floor king) and services that were 'tired'. The towels were often straggly and with shredded ends; there was a finger-plate missing around the light-switch in the bathroom (with exposed metal and therefore a potential hazard for any young fingers), gashed tiles in the shower where a shelf used to be, and no fridge, so trips to the ice machine were essential if you wanted cold water during the night. The building is also poorly soundproofed. We could hear most of what went on in the corridors and sometimes what went on next door. We had asked for a quite room and were helpfully put on the top floor - we asked why? - 'because no one will be on the floor above you' - so our guess is that it's even noisier on the lower floors. So although the sound issues are structural and cannot be dealt with by local management, in our opinion better cyclical management, more frequent walk-throughs, and attention to detail would lift the place a notch or two higher...

Room Tip: Top floor probably best for noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Tony R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $140 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing